Maiden Eurocup triumph for Hubert at Silverstone

by Paul Hensby

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert took his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory as the championship battle heated up at Silverstone.

The Tech 1 Racing driver converted his maiden series pole position into his first victory, making a good start and then withstanding the pressure from behind from race two winner Kevin Jörg.

Jörg’s runners-up spot coupled with his Josef Kaufmann Racing team-mate Louis Deletraz’s failure to finish higher than sixth means the two team-mates are now separated by one point at the head of the championship, still in favour of Deletraz.

Ukyo Sasahara completed the podium for the ART Junior Team on the final lap as Ben Barnicoat’s disappointing weekend ended with another disappointing result as he spun out of podium contention and ultimately finished thirteenth for Fortec Motorsports.

Jack Aitken and Jake Hughes couldn’t match their podium finishes from races one and two, finishing fourth and fifth for Koiranen GP ahead of Deletraz, while Callan O’Keeffe was seventh for Fortec ahead of Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport.

Wild-card entry Will Palmer drove a strong race to claim ninth for the ART Junior Team, with Thiago Vivacqua tenth for JD Motorsport. With Palmer ineligible for points, eleventh place finisher Simon Gachet picks up the final point on offer.

Silverstone Race 3 Result

122Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing27m46.594s
215Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+1.235s
39Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team+3.137s
43Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP+4.353s
52Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+4.834s
614Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+6.253s
77Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports+10.180s
817Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport+10.868s
953Will PalmerGBRART Junior Team+11.899s
1036Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+12.659s
1121Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+17.980s
125Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports+18.773s
136Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports+19.612s
1435Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+22.699s
1528Charlie EastwoodIRLAVF+28.821s
1654Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports+29.176s
1710Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+29.258s
1847Nikita MazepinRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+30.199s
191Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP+30.473s
2025Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+31.667s
2152Matteo FerrerITACram Motorsport+35.549s
2226James AllenAUSARTA Engineering+40.080s
238Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports+40.882s
RET27Harrison ScottGBRAVFRetired
RET20Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 RacingRetired
RET19Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP MotorsportRetired

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More