Formula Renault 2.0

Maiden pole for Barnicoat as Fortec lock out front row

1 Mins read

Following on from fellow Racing Steps Foundation-backed Oliver Rowland’s pole position for the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, Ben Barnicoat secured pole position for race two of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series at the Nurburgring.

The British driver set a best time of 1m54.936s in the first of the two qualifying groups, and then could only watch on from the sidelines, but no one could beat his time, with Barnicoat able to take his first series pole position as a result.

He will be joined on the front row by Fortec Motorsports team-mate Martin Kodric, who topped the second group with a 1m55.152s, while Ukyo Sasahara of the ART Junior Team and Anthoine Hubert of Tech 1 Racing will share the second row after finishing second fastest in their groups.

Josef Kaufmann Racing duo Kevin Jörg and Louis Deletraz will start fifth and sixth, just ahead of Koiranen GP team-mates Jack Aitken and Jake Hughes, meaning the four main championship contenders, separated at the start of this race by just six points, will start together on the grid.

Callan O’Keeffe of Fortec Motorsports and Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport complete the top ten for the final race of the weekend in Germany.

Nurburgring Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=596 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.