Marquez Claims Aragon Pole Despite Crash

Marc Marquez set the fastest ever two-wheeled lap of Motorland Aragon to claim pole position ahead of Jorge Lorenzo despite crashing late in qualifying. The world champion finally showed his hand after keeping quiet in free practice to beat his Spanish rival by a tenth of a second while Valentino Rossi’s qualifying gremlins returned.

Lorenzo and Marquez had been the class of the field throughout free practice and the pair renewed their rivalry in Q2, Lorenzo breaking the lap record at the very first attempt. The Movistar Yamaha rider set a 1:47.080 as an opening salvo but Marquez crossed the line moments later to put his compatriot in his place, clocking a 1:46.635.

To many, it appeared as though Marquez had achieved the perfect lap and on his subsequent two runs, Marc tried in vain to beat his own benchmark time. On his second attempt, he came up agonisingly short with a 1:46.675 while the third run only lasted as far as the second corner when the front end of his Repsol Honda cried enough through the fast right-hander.

Although Lorenzo joined him in the 1:46s late on, Marc held onto pole, while Andrea Iannone produced one of the day’s stand-out performances to qualify third, dislocated shoulder and all. The Italian’s impressive display was matched by that of Pol Espargaro who finished a sensational fourth, beating the second factory Honda of Dani Pedrosa.

Faced with a third row start, Valentino Rossi dug deep to set a 1:47.492, dragging him back up to sixth, with Aleix Espargaro relegated to seventh ahead of Cal Crutchlow and Q1 pacesetter Danilo Petrucci. Bradley Smith failed to deliver on his practice promise, leaving him tenth on the grid, but his disappointment will be nothing compared to Andrea Dovizioso who was a surprise Q1 casualty.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
193. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:46.635Q2
299. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:46.743Q2
329. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team1:47.178Q2
444. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:47.334Q2
526. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:47.357Q2
646. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:47.492Q2
741. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:47.573Q2
835. Cal CrutchlowHondaLCR Honda1:47.574Q2
99. Danilo PetrucciDucatiOcto Pramac Racing1:47.775Q2
1038. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:47.830Q2
1168. Yonny HernandezDucatiOcto Pramac Racing1:48.556Q2
1225. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:48.648Q2
134. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:48.294Q1
1445. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:48.674Q1
1550. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:49.035Q1
1669. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:49.102Q1
176. Stefan BradlApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:49.109Q1
1863. Mike Di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing1:49.253Q1
198. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing1:49.426Q1
2043. Jack MillerHondaLCR Honda1:49.436Q1
2119. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:49.437Q1
2276. Loris BazYamaha ForwardForward Racing1:49.496Q1
2317. Karel AbrahamHondaAB Motoracing1:49.761Q1
2415. Alex de AngelisARTE-Motion IodaRacing Team1:50.134Q1
2524. Toni EliasYamaha ForwardForward Racing1:50.755Q1