Oliveira Wins at Aragon after Dramatic Finish

1 Mins read

Miguel Oliveira steered clear of chaos on the final lap of the Aragon Grand Prix to take his third victory of the 2015 season. The Portuguese rider led from the front while championship rivals Danny Kent and Enea Bastianini both crashed out in separate incidents, keeping the gap between the two at 55 points with four races remaining.

In a race which saw numbers in the leading group hit double figures at one point, Oliveira was an ever present at the sharp end, never falling outside the top three. However with a lap to go, his Red Bull KTM Ajo teammate appeared to be in the box seat with Brad Binder holding a slight advantage.

Oliveira set about changing that immediately by outdragging the South African on the approach to turn one but the drama was only just beginning. Four corners from home, Binder was tagged from behind by the chasing Bastianini, the Italian desperate to put an extra bike between himself and Kent who was lying fifth behind Jorge Navarro. The end result was contact which eliminated Bastianini and Binder, promoting Navarro and Kent into the rostrum spots.

Despite staring at a sixteen point gain and a virtually unassailable championship advantage, Kent went on the attack at the final corner with his eyes on Navarro’s second place. Unfortunately for the Briton, his attempts to take a tighter line around turn sixteen only succeeded in high-siding his Honda. Danny was out on the spot and Bastianini was handed a remarkable reprieve.

Navarro held onto second for the first podium of his Grand Prix career, a magnificent achievement after a heavy crash in morning warm-up, while Romano Fenati inherited the final place on the rostrum. Efren Vazquez salvaged fourth for Leopard Racing ahead of the impressive Philipp Oettl while Niccolo Antonelli completed the top six.

2014 Red Bull Rookies champion Jorge Martin produced his best Moto3 performance to date in seventh, keeping the leading group in sight throughout, while Alexis Masbou, Andrea Migno and Hiroki Ono rounded out the top ten.



[table id=645 /]

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship