Sasahara leads Deletraz in Nurburgring tests

by Paul Hensby

Japanese racer Ukyo Sasahara led the way at the end of the two Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series collective test sessions at the Nurburgring on Friday ahead of current championship leader Louis Deletraz.

ART Junior Team driver Sasahara set a time of 1m55.584s in the quicker afternoon session to beat Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Deletraz by 0.191s, while Jack Aitken of Koiranen GP was third, a further 0.004s back.

Kevin Jörg, who now sits second in the championship, one point behind team-mate Deletraz, was fourth quickest ahead of Ben Barnicoat of Fortec Motorsports, who is looking to put behind him his disappointing weekend at Silverstone where he failed to score points in any of the three races despite showing good pace.

Silverstone race three winner Anthoine Hubert was sixth fastest overall for Tech 1 Racing, while Fortec Motorsports’ Martin Kodric was seventh ahead of Koiranen GP’s Jake Hughes.

ART Junior Team’s Darius Oskoui was ninth, with Manor MP Motorsport’s Ignazio D’Agosto completing the top ten.

Earlier in the day, Ferdinand Habsburg topped the morning session for Fortec Motorsports, just under a week on from his frightening aerial crash at Silverstone when he clashed with Barnicoat. The Austrian racer was quickest ahead of Deletraz, Hughes, D’Agosto and Sasahara.

Nurburgring Collective Tests Results (Combined)

19Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m57.435s1m55.584s
214Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.341s1m55.775s
33Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m57.911s1m55.779s
415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.865s1m55.826s
56Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m57.906s1m55.857s
622Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m57.618s1m55.979s
75Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m58.011s1m56.012s
82Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m57.343s1m56.053s
910Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m57.960s1m56.079s
1019Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m57.398s1m56.109s
1135Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m57.791s1m56.162s
1254Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m58.258s1m56.238s
1349Max DefournyBELART Junior Team1m57.837s1m56.310s
1445Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1m57.309s1m56.364s
1517Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m57.662s1m56.407s
161Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP1m58.100s1m56.567s
1727Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m58.487s1m56.588s
1818Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport1m58.217s1m56.597s
197Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports1m57.678s1m56.612s
2036Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m58.095s1m56.618s
2121Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m58.030s1m56.667s
2256Daniel TicktumGBRKoiranen GP1m58.436s1m56.725s
2326James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m57.740s1m56.857s
2420Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m58.183s1m56.928s
2544Stefan RienerAUTKoiranen GP1m58.951s1m56.974s
2628Josef ZarubaCZEAVF1m58.929s1m57.029s
2751Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m57.833s1m57.081s
2855Dries VanthoorBELJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.529s1m57.225s
298Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports1m58.158s1m57.286s
3025Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m58.078s1m57.331s
3142Henrique ChavesPORAVF1m58.524s1m57.385s
3257Pontus FredricssonSWEPrizma Motorsport1m58.719s1m57.389s
3346Christopher AnthonyAUSManor MP MotorsportNo Time1m57.530s
3437Nikita TroitskiyRUSJD Motorsport2m00.153s1m57.938s
3548Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM1m59.937s2m00.211s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More