Wild card Daruvala tops opening Eurocup test

Fortec Motorsports wild card entry Jehan Daruvala ended the opening collective test session of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series weekend with the fastest time on a chilly morning at Silverstone.

The Indian racer was the only driver to break into the 1m58s bracket during the fifty-minute session, with his 1m58.831s more than four-tenths of a second faster than second placed Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Jörg’s team-mate and current Eurocup championship leader Louis Deletraz was third quickest ahead of another wildcard entry in the form of Italian racer Matteo Ferrer of Cram Motorsport, who jumped up the order late in the session to pip South African Callan O’Keeffe of Fortec Motorsports.

Jake Hughes was the leading Koiranen GP entry and leading British hopeful in sixth, ahead of fellow Briton Ben Barnicoat in his Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports entry, while Irishman Charlie Eastwood beat his British AVF team-mate Harrison Scott to eighth.

Ukyo Sasahara completed the top ten for the ART Junior Team, just ahead of team-mate Darius Oskoui, while Will Palmer, racing for ART this weekend as a wildcard entry was twenty-second fastest.

Silverstone Collective Test Morning Session Times

154Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m58.831s
215Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m59.242s
314Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m59.375s
452Matteo FerrerITACram Motorsport1m59.578s
57Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports1m59.591s
62Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m59.674s
76Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m59.773s
828Charlie EastwoodIRLAVF1m59.777s
927Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m59.804s
109Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m59.880s
1110Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m59.952s
1236Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m59.958s
133Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP2m00.096s
1445Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2m00.184s
158Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports2m00.237s
1622Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing2m00.304s
1717Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport2m00.400s
185Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports2m00.504s
1919Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport2m00.549s
2035Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport2m00.588s
211Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP2m00.790s
2253Will PalmerGBRART Junior Team2m01.062s
2321Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing2m01.092s
2447Nikita MazepinRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2m01.158s
2526James AllenAUSARTA Engineering2m01.378s
2625Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering2m01.415s
2720Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2m01.805s
2818Lasse SorensenDENManor MP MotorsportNo Time