EuroFormula Open

Baptista takes the spoils in entertaining Monza opener

1 Mins read

Vitor Baptista took a fourth consecutive victory and his sixth of the season to extend his EuroFormula Open championship lead at the end of an entertaining opening race of the weekend at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Saturday.

The Brazilian RP Motorsport driver survived a great battle for the lead, at least early in the race when five drivers were nose-to-tail, and then held off the challenge of championship rival Konstantin Tereschenko of Campos Racing, although the Russian has carrying a five-second time penalty for exceeding track limits.

In the early stages, Baptista and Tereschenko were joined in the lead battle by Yu Kanamaru, Tanart Sathienthirakul and Damiano Fioravanti, but once the top two got ahead, they pulled out a gap to the other three.

Sathienthirakul of Team West-Tec F3 and Fioravanti of RP Motorsport were unable to finish the race however, after the Thai driver spun while attacking Tereschenko once more, only to collect the Italian, who had nowhere to go as he took avoiding action.

Kanamaru inherited third as a result despite the Emilio de Villota Motorsport driver running the majority of the race with damage to his front wing, and then took second due to Tereschenko’s penalty.

Taking career best finishes in fourth, fifth and sixth after a great battle were Campos Racing’s Diego Menchaca, BVM Racing’s William Barbosa and Campos Racing’s Henrique Baptista, with positions ebbing and flowing between the trio.

Leonardo Pulcini was involved in the battle until a few laps before the end, before a lurid slide heading into the Ascari Chicane saw the young Italian spin, with the DAV Racing driver finishing down in tenth as a result.

Igor Walilko took seventh for RP Motorsport ahead of team-mate Andres Saravia, while Ahmad Al Ghanem took ninth, meaning all four Campos Racing drivers were inside the top ten.

As well as Sathienthirakul and Fioravanti retiring, we also saw Alessio Rovera retire his DAV Racing machine early on, while Yarin Stern had a disappointing and short afternoon when, after making a bad start, he slide into the barriers at the Parabolica on the opening lap.

Monza Race 1 Result

[table id=655 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply