Barnicoat secures final pole of 2015 as Aitken spins

by Paul Hensby

Ben Barnicoat grabbed his second pole position of the season for the final race of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season as the wet weather that affected Saturday’s running returned to Jerez on Sunday.

The biggest casualty was new championship leader Jack Aitken, who spun his Koiranen GP machine into the gravel before being able to set a representative lap time, and will start back in twenty-third position as a result.

The second group ran in slightly better conditions to allow Fortec Motorsports driver Barnicoat to take top spot, with his lap of 1m54.432s beating the time set by the opening session by Frenchman Anthoine Hubert of Tech 1 Racing.

Louis Deletraz, who sits twenty-one points behind Aitken, will start third for Josef Kaufmann Racing, and needs to win the race and hope that Aitken does not climb above ninth to be in with a chance of the title.

Deletraz’s team-mate Kevin Jörg, the third driver in contention, will start twelfth, with the Swiss racer thirteen points behind Aitken.

Fourth on the grid for the final race of 2015 will be Ignazio D’Agosto, who is aiming for his third podium finish of the weekend for Manor MP Motorsport, with Simon Gachet of Tech 1 Racing and James Allen of ARTA Engineering on row three.

Max Defourny will start seventh despite causing a late red flag when he stopped his ART Junior Team machine on track in the second session, with Jake Hughes alongside the Belgian wildcard driver on row four.

Ukyo Sasahara of the ART Junior Team and Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport round out the top ten.

Jerez Race 3 Qualifying Result

16Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m54.432s
222Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m55.601s
314Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m55.405s
419Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m56.332s
521Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m55.554s
626James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m56.449s
749Max DefournyBELART Junior Team1m55.739s
82Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m56.668s
99Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m56.322s
1017Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m56.732s
1135Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m56.585s
1215Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m56.738s
1320Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m57.157s
1454Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m56.788s
1527Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m57.270s
1625Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m57.096s
1751Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m59.099s
1818Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport1m57.883s
1948Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM1m59.546s
205Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m57.891s
2159Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix1m59.824s
2236Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m57.985s
233Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP2m11.931s
2458Denis BulatovRUSAVF1m58.136s
258Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec MotorsportsNo Time
2637Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport2m01.316s
2710Darius OskouiSWIART Junior TeamNo Time

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More