Barnicoat wins finale, Aitken takes title

Ben Barnicoat finished the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season with victory but Jack Aitken claimed the championship despite failing to finish inside the points.

After spinning into the gravel during qualifying, Aitken’s race started badly when he was forced to start from the pit lane after a car problem on the way to the grid, but Louis Deletraz’s failure to secure victory and a pointless afternoon for Kevin Jörg gave the Koiranen GP racer the title.

Having secured pole position earlier in the day in changeable conditions, Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports driver Barnicoat was untroubled throughout the race, surviving two safety car periods to take his third victory of the season.

Anthoine Hubert was Barnicoat’s closest challenger throughout the race, with the Tech 1 Racing driver ending just 0.749s back, while Ignazio D’Agosto claimed his third podium finish of the weekend for Manor MP Motorsport in third.

Deletraz, who needed to win the race to have any hope of taking the title, did not have the pace, and dropped behind D’Agosto on the opening lap before losing further ground to Jake Hughes and Ukyo Sasahara to finish sixth.

Matevos Isaakyan ended the finale in seventh for JD Motorsport ahead of Harrison Scott of AVF, while Martin Kodric and Dennis Olsen completed the top ten.

Aitken climbed from the back of the field to finish sixteenth, but his two race victories on Saturday at Jerez were enough for him to add the Eurocup title to his Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS championship he earned last weekend.

The first of the two safety cars was called on the opening lap when James Allen spun his ARTA Engineering at the first corner while taking avoiding action around a spinning Simon Gachet, while Vasily Romanov spinning at the chicane caused the second.

Jerez Race 3 Result

16Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports26m52.676s
222Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing+0.749s
319Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport+2.021s
42Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+6.140s
59Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team+6.586s
614Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+8.458s
735Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+8.931s
827Harrison ScottGBRAVF+9.798s
95Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports+10.384s
1017Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport+10.701s
1136Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+11.627s
1249Max DefournyBELART Junior Team+11.713s
1320Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+12.186s
1448Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM+13.028s
1558Denis BulatovRUSAVF+16.068s
163Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP+16.727s
1721Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+17.059s
1818Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport+17.691s
198Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports+20.221s
2037Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport+21.271s
2125Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+22.101s
2259Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix+22.787s
2310Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+30.502s
2415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+49.819s
RET54Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET51Vasily RomanovRUSCram MotorsportRetired
RET26James AllenAUSARTA EngineeringRetired