ADAC Formula 4

Beckmann Wins after Norris’ horror crash

1 Mins read

David Beckmann took the win and the rookie championship after Lando Norris’ crash red flagged the race with two minutes to go. The celebrations were muted amongst the top three as they entered the pits having seen the incident.

Dienst was once again on pole as he looked to do the double after clinching the championship earlier in the day. It was poor start for team mate Janneau Esmeijer as he once again fell back from his front row start, with the Dutch driver in ninth after the first lap. His race would end early though after a misfire saw his car crawl to a halt on the second lap.

The incident would bring out the safety car as the HTP Junior Team car was abandoned on the side of the track. The first lap had also seen issues for Joel Eriksson who couldn’t find a way past before being edged off the track. He would eventually fall outside the top six.

At the first restart, pole sitter Dienst lead, but quickly gave up the lead as, on cold brakes, he ran wide at the hairpin. The mistake allowed Beckmann to take the lead with team mate Norris behind. Dienst would slot into third, but would eventually lose his place to Joey Mawson behind.

Over the course of the race, two more safety cars appeared as the top four and Mick Schumacher broke away from the rest of the pack, with Beckmann on course to claim the rookie championship as a result.

However; with only two minutes to run Norris made a brave move up the inside into Mercedes. Beckmann blocked and Norris was launched over the top of his Mucke Motorsport team mate. Beckmann ran wide and lost the lead while Norris was flipped upside onto the gravel.

While this did gift the race lead to Dienst, the results were taken from the previous lap, meaning that Beckmann took the win from Norris and Mawson in the final classifications. Even if Norris was forced to miss the ceremony after being taken to the medical centre.

Dienst would finish fourth ahead of Schumacher, while behind them an excellent attacking race from Jason Kremer ensured he worked his way through to sixth, in front of Tim Zimmermann.

Eriksson would eventually finish in eighth having struggled throughout, while Harrison Newey and Kami Laliberte rounded out the top ten.

Related posts
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3InterviewsItalian F4

Interview: Red Bull Junior Hauger Aiming to Be First Norwegian to Race in Formula 1

3 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Dennis Hauger wants to write his name in history by becoming the first Norwegian Formula 1 driver.
ADAC Formula 4Italian F4

Sebastian Montoya to Make Formula 4 Debut in 2020 with Prema Powerteam

1 Mins read
Teenager Sebastian Montoya will begin his single-seater career this year with Prema Powerteam.
ADAC Formula 4F3 Asian ChampionshipFormula Renault EurocupSuper Formula

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-up – 27-29 September 2019

12 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the race weekends of Super Formula, Formula Renault Eurocup, F3 Asian Championship and ADAC Formula 4.

Leave a Reply