Double Eurocup pole for Aitken in Jerez

Jack Aitken secured a double pole position in Jerez and moved himself into a good place as he fights for the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series championship.

The Koiranen GP driver sits third in the championship standings with just this weekends three races of the season remaining, and will start from pole position for both races one and two that take place on Saturday.

Aitken was able to take advantage of the better conditions having run in the opening group of runners, with light rain falling during the second session and affecting the lap times, with a time of 1m39.989s more than enough to take pole for race one, while his second best time of 1m40.080s enabled him to secure top spot for the second race.

Kevin Jörg, who sits second in the championship, will start alongside Aitken on the front row for race one for Josef Kaufmann Racing, with Ben Barnicoat of Fortec Motorsports and Ignazio D’Agosto of Manor MP Motorsport sharing row two.

Championship leader Louis Deletraz will start fifth in the second Josef Kaufmann Racing entry alongside another of the Manor MP Motorsport entries of Norwegian driver Dennis Olsen, with Ukyo Sasahara of the ART Junior Team and Alexey Korneev of JD Motorsport sharing row four.

JD Motorsport’s Matevos Isaakyan and Koiranen GP’s Jake Hughes complete the top ten for race one.

For race two, D’Agosto will line-up alongside Aitken on the front row, with Barnicoat and Jörg on row two, Deletraz alongside Olsen on row three, Isaakyan and Hughes on row four, while Sasahara and JD Motorsport’s Thiago Vivacqua share row five.

It was a disappointing session for championship contender Anthoine Hubert, with the Tech 1 Racing driver being caught out by the weather in the second session, and as a result will start down in sixteenth for both races with lots of work to do to remain in contention for the title beyond today.

Jerez Race 1 Qualifying Times

13Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m39.989s
215Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m40.457s
36Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m40.141s
419Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m40.608s
514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m40.400s
617Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m40.806s
79Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m40.598s
837Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1m41.031s
935Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m40.688s
102Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m41.125s
1149Max DefournyBELART Junior Team1m40.703s
1218Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport1m41.510s
1351Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m40.769s
1436Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m41.511s
1521Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m41.261s
1622Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m41.684s
1727Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m41.422s
185Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m41.701s
198Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports1m41.445s
2026James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m42.972s
2148Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM1m41.678s
2225Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m43.796s
2320Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m41.935s
2454Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m44.249s
2510Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m42.552s
2658Denis BulatovRUSAVF1m52.985s
2759Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix1m42.863s

Jerez Race 2 Qualifying Times

13Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m40.080s
219Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m40.858s
36Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m40.208s
415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m41.046s
514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m40.496s
617Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m41.061s
735Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m40.883s
82Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m41.232s
99Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m40.885s
1036Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m41.994s
1149Max DefournyBELART Junior Team1m40.930s
1237Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1m42.135s
1321Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m41.346s
1418Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport1m42.149s
158Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports1m41.478s
1622Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m43.167s
1727Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m41.583s
1826James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m43.591s
1951Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m41.607s
2025Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m43.846s
2148Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM1m41.720s
225Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m44.869s
2320Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m42.077s
2454Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m53.210s
2559Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix1m43.063s
2658Denis BulatovRUSAVFNo Time
2710Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m43.105s