EuroFormula Open

Fioravanti leads RP Motorsport 1-2-3 in Monza

1 Mins read

Damiano Fioravanti took his maiden EuroFormula Open victory as RP Motorsport team-mate Vitor Baptista moved closer to the championship following Konstantin Tereschenko’s early retirement from the second race at Monza on Sunday.

Pole sitter Tereschenko lost the lead heading into the first chicane on the second lap of the race to Fioravanti, and then lost second to Igor Walilko on the run down to the same chicane on the third lap, but misjudged his braking and collided with the Polish driver, braking his suspension.

Fioravanti took advantage to pull out a gap over the chasing pack, and was never headed as the Italian took victory on home soil.

Championship leader Baptista moved confidently through the field early in the race after starting seventh to finish second behind Fioravanti, moving ahead of Walilko on the fourth lap and edging closer to the race leader until the chequered flag, ending just half a second adrift, while Walilko made it a RP Motorsport 1-2-3 in third.

Campos Racing’s Tereschenko now sits 32 points behind Baptista in the championship, with just 54 points available at the Circuit de Catalunya at the end of October.

Tanart Sathienthirakul ended a lonely fourth for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, who was involved in a good battle with Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing before consolidating his position, while Pulcini was passed by Campos Racing’s Diego Menchaca and was forced to settle for seventh.

Yarin Stern took eighth for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of MKTG’s Kantadhee Kusiri, while Henrique Baptista took the final point on offer in tenth for Campos Racing.

Monza Race 2 Result

[table id=659 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply