Force India-backed Daruvala tops post-Jerez test

Force India-supported Jehan Daruvala was quickest in the post-season test the Circuito de Jerez, a day after the conclusion to the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season at the Spanish circuit.

The Indian racer set a best time of 1m40.642s as he switched over to the championship winning Josef Kaufman Racing squad for the test having raced for Fortec Motorsports as a guest driver in the championship for a handful of events this season.

Another driver with guest driver experience in the championship in 2015, Belgian Max Defourny, was second quickest on the day for Tech 1 Racing, having run with the ART Junior Team during the season, and was the only driver across the four one-hour sessions to get beneath the 1m41s barrier.

Harrison Scott was the leading full-time returnee from 2015, with the British driver switching from AVF to the ART Junior Team for the test, while fellow Briton and 2015 MSA Formula champion Lando Norris ended fourth quickest for Fortec Motorsports.

Darius Oskoui, who raced for the ART Junior Team during the 2015 season, tested with AVF and set the fifth fastest time of the day, although he was more than a second slower than the pace set by Daruvala.

Finnish racer Aleksanteri Huovinen, a graduate of the SMP Formula 4 Championship, placed sixth for Koiranen GP, just ahead of James Allen, who remained in the ARTA Engineering seat in which he contested the 2015 Eurocup season.

Another Finn, Simo Laaksonen was eighth for Koiranen GP, ahead of Frenchmen Julien Falchero and Sacha Fenestraz, who both tested with Tech 1 Racing.

A total of twenty-eight drivers ran throughout the day, with drivers from MSA Formula, SMP Formula 4, French Formula 4, Italian Formula 4 and karting all participating.

Jerez Test Results (Combined Times)

115Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1m40.642s
222Max DefournyBELTech 1 Racing1m40.977s
39Harrison ScottGBRART Junior Team1m41.252s
45Lando NorrisGBRFortec Motorsports1m41.417s
528Darius OskouiSWIAVF1m41.656s
63Aleksanteri HuovinenFINKoiranen GP1m41.889s
726James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m42.077s
82Simo LaaksonenFINKoiranen GP1m42.087s
923Julien FalcheroFRATech 1 Racing1m42.270s
1021Sacha FenestrazFRATech 1 Racing1m42.303s
1137Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1m42.399s
1235Bruno BaptistaBRZJD Motorsport1m42.456s
136Enaam AhmedGBRFortec Motorsports1m42.600s
1427Ricky CollardGBRAVF1m42.629s
1510Valentin MoineaultFRAART Junior Team1m42.744s
1658Denis BulatovRUSAVF1m42.820s
1720Ferdinand HabsburgAUTTech 1 Racing1m42.866s
1859Diego BertonelliITAGSK Grand Prix1m42.867s
198Nikita TroitskiyRUSFortec Motorsports1m42.975s
2036Jaoa VieiraBRZJD Motorsport1m43.162s
2129Henrique ChavesPORAVF1m43.314s
2217Oliver SoderstromSWEManor MP Motorsport1m43.407s
2316Gabriel AubryFRAJosef Kaufmann Racing1m43.682s
2425Julien DarrasFRAARTA Engineering1m43.875s
2519Piers PriorGBRManor MP Motorsport1m44.415s
2660Alessandro PerulloITAGSK Grand Prix1m45.009s
2754Ilmari KorpivaaraFINFortec Motorsports1m45.168s
2848Luca CorberiITABVM1m46.193s