Jack Aitken doubles up in Jerez

Jack Aitken moved thirteen points clear in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series championship after securing his second victory of the day at a wet Jerez on Saturday.

The Koiranen GP driver survived a safety car start, a red flag and a second intervention from the safety car to take the win.

After further rain, the race once again started behind the safety car, but was then red flagged when Daniel Pronenko ended up in the gravel trap, but Aitken remained calm throughout to maintain his lead.

Aitken then maintained the lead after the safety car was deployed once more due to a crash between Anthoine Hubert and Valentin Hasse-Clot, with the race restarting for one lap before the chequered flag fell, with Aitken winning by 0.622s from Manor MP Motorsport’s Ignazio D’Agosto.

Ben Barnicoat, who lost a certain podium in race one due to a late car issue, was able to finish third this time around for Fortec Motorsports, finishing ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing duo Kevin Jörg and Louis Deletraz.

Jörg is Aitken’s closest challenger in the championship but now finds himself thirteen points back, with Deletraz the only other driver still in contention, albeit twenty-one points back despite arriving in Jerez as the championship leader.

Matevos Isaakyan of JD Motorsport finished sixth ahead of Jake Hughes of Koiranen GP, with both the Russian and the Briton finding a way passed Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport, while Martin Kodric and Thiago Vivacqua completed the top ten.

Jerez Race 2 Result

13Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP50m34.002s
219Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport+0.622s
36Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports+1.779s
415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+3.021s
514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+3.635s
635Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+3.975s
72Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+5.122s
817Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport+5.644s
95Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports+7.377s
1036Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+7.534s
1127Harrison ScottGBRAVF+8.131s
1225Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+8.791s
1354Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports+9.585s
1410Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+10.134s
1558Denis BulatovRUSAVF+10.656s
169Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team+12.482s
1720Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+13.819s
1859Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix+14.955s
1949Max DefournyBELART Junior Team+16.018s
2051Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport+17.317s
2121Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+30.835s
RET22Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 RacingRetired
RET8Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET18Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP MotorsportRetired
RET26James AllenAUSARTA EngineeringRetired
RET37Alexey KorneevRUSJD MotorsportRetired
RET48Daniel PronenkoUKRBVMRetired