Kanamaru grabs last gasp pole at wet Monza

Yu Kanamaru snatched a last-gasp pole position for the opening race of the EuroFormula Open weekend at a wet Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Saturday.

Although no rain feel throughout the session, it was still wet enough throughout the thirty minutes for drivers to stick to rain tyres, and it was Kanamaru who stuck his Emilio de Villota Motorsport machine on pole, denying championship leader Vitor Baptista.

Baptista had looked set to take his sixth pole position of the season for RP Motorsport, but saw his 2m02.178s lap usurped by Kanamaru’s 2m02.092s as the chequered flag fell.

Konstantin Tereschenko, currently sitting second in the championship behind Baptista by just four points, will start the opening race of the weekend in Italy from third on the grid for Campos Racing, with RP Motorsports’ Damiano Fioravanti fourth.

Diego Menchaca was fifth for Campos Racing ahead of the leading Team West-Tec F3 entry of Tanart Sathienthirakul, with Alessio Rovera of DAV Racing seventh ahead of Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3.

Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing will start ninth, with Kantadhee Kusiri completing the top ten for MKTG.

There was disappointment however for Andres Saravia, with the Guatemalan driver joining the session late only to see his RP Motorsport machine grind to a halt at the Curva Grande on his out lap.

Monza Free Race 1 Qualifying Result

116Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport2m02.092s
23Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport2m02.178s
36Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing2m02.375s
45Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport2m02.610s
57Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing2m02.668s
615Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F32m02.885s
721Alessio RoveraITADAV Racing2m02.897s
810Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F32m02.937s
977Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing2m02.954s
102Kantadhee KusiriTHAMKTG2m03.133s
1137Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport2m03.177s
1223Kang LingCHNDAV Racing2m03.263s
1317Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport2m03.991s
1419William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing2m04.000s
159Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing2m04.050s
164Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport2m04.058s
178Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing2m04.143s
1870Parth GhorpadeINDDAV Racing2m04.426s
1912Mahaveer RaghunathanINDTeam West-Tec F32m04.813s
201Andres SaraviaGTMRP MotorsportNo Time