Formula Ford

Team USA reveal drivers for the 2015 Formula Ford Festival

1 Mins read

The Formula Ford Festival has had two more drivers confirmed, after Team USA announced their scholarship winners for the annual tournament happening on the 24th – 25th October at Brands Hatch.

The lucky ‘Team USA’ Scholarship Winners were young Americans; Dakota Dickerson and Michai Stephens. Both will now have the opportunity to travel to England to compete in a pair of famous international events to further their racing careers.

The duo will represent their country in the Formula Ford Festival and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone, driving Ray chassis prepared by Cliff Dempsey Racing and boasting the traditional red-white-and-blue U.S. Colours.

Dickerson, 18 from San Diego, and Stephens, 23 from Evanston, Illinois, earned the scholarships from a field of 12 nominees following a “shootout” last month at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California, that included an assessment comprised of a variety of on and off-track activities. While this will mark a return for Stephens who competed in last years Formula Ford Festival.

The Team USA Scholarship is celebrating 25 years of providing opportunities for American race car drivers. Past recipients include Indy car drivers Jimmy Vasser, Bryan Herta, Buddy Rice, Josef Newgarden, JR Hildebrand and Conor Daly.

While the Formula Ford Festival itself can boast high class winners, such as Mark Webber, Johnny Herbert, Eddie Irvine and world champion Jenson Button.

With two weeks left before the event, entries are still open for a weekend that Motorsport News described as ‘one of the top ten events drivers want to win.’

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply