Tereschenko leads Kanamaru in Friday practice

Championship contender Konstantin Tereschenko finished on top of the timing screens after the trio of free practice sessions at the Circuit de Catalunya on Friday as the EuroFormula Open season finale got underway.

Tereschenko, who is 32 points behind Vitor Baptista but has an outside shot at the championship, set a time of 1m39.517s during the opening of the free practice sessions, a time that was more than half a second faster than anybody else all day.

Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport was second quickest, 0.680s behind the Campos Racing driver, while Tereschenko’s team-mate Diego Menchaca ended up third quickest and finished inside the top three in all three sessions.

Damiano Fioravanti, fresh from his maiden EuroFormula Open victory at Monza, ended up fourth and the best of the RP Motorsport entries, just ahead of Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul of Team West-Tec F3.

Igor Walilko was sixth for RP Motorsport ahead of guest driver Daniel Juncadella of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, who is using the event to qualify for the Macau Grand Prix, while Leonardo Pulcini placed eighth for DAV Racing.

Championship leader Baptista was down in ninth for RP Motorsport, but only needs to score sixteen points or finish ahead of Tereschenko to claim the championship.

Team West-Tec F3’s Israeli driver Yarin Stern completed the top ten.

Circuit de Catalunya Free Practice Times (Combined)

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing1m39.517s1m41.687s1m42.103s
216Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m40.197s1m42.456s1m42.896s
37Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1m40.372s1m41.743s1m41.861s
45Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1m40.566s1m42.512s1m41.959s
515Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F31m40.603sNo Time1m42.185s
637Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport1m40.623s1m43.081s1m42.395s
722Daniel JuncadellaESPEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m40.634s1m42.125s1m42.815s
877Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing1m40.757s1m42.297s1m42.142s
93Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m40.829s1m42.074s1m41.481s
1010Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F31m40.997s1m42.995s1m42.018s
1123Kang LingCHNDAV Racing1m41.069s1m42.725s1m42.851s
121Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport1m41.108s1m44.108s1m42.057s
132Kantadhee KusiriTHAMKTG1m41.248s1m43.461s1m43.032s
144Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport1m41.279s1m43.083s1m42.567s
1517Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m41.621s1m44.140s1m43.016s
1628Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1m41.713s1m42.470s1m43.448s
178Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing1m41.721s1m42.811s1m42.385s
1812Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F31m41.766s1m49.868s1m43.487s
199Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing1m42.527s1m43.588s1m43.354s