Tereschenko secures race one Barcelona pole

Konstantin Tereschenko continued his Friday practice form into first qualifying on Saturday to secure an important pole position as he battles to remain in the EuroFormula Open championship hunt.

The Russian driver took one point out of the 32 point gap to championship leader Vitor Baptista by securing his seventh pole position of the season for the opener at the Circuit de Catalunya, while Baptista could only manage fifth.

Joining the Campos Racing driver on the front row of the grid will be Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru, while the second row of the grid will be formed by their respective team-mates, with Diego Menchaca lining up alongside guest driver Daniel Juncadella.

Baptista was only 0.047s behind Juncadella’s time, but was the only RP Motorsport representative inside the top ten as the team appeared to struggle for pace during the session.

DAV Racing’s Leonardo Pulcini will start alongside Baptista in sixth, with Yarin Stern and Tanart Sathienthirakul locking out the fourth row for Team West-Tec F3, with the duo separated by just 0.005s.

Chinese racer Kang Ling made it two DAV Racing entries in the top ten and will start ninth, with debutant Ferdinand Habsburg completing the top ten for the Drivex School team.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 1 Qualifying Result

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing1m39.591s
216Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m39.651s
37Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1m39.853s
422Daniel JuncadellaESPEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m39.903s
53Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m39.950s
677Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing1m40.172s
710Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F31m40.220s
815Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F31m40.225s
923Kang LingCHNDAV Racing1m40.376s
1028Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1m40.387s
115Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1m40.400s
1212Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F31m40.633s
138Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing1m40.634s
142Kantadhee KusiriTHAMKTG1m40.774s
151Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport1m40.860s
164Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport1m40.972s
1737Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport1m41.023s
189Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing1m41.840s
1917Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m42.178s