Tereschenko wins to keep title hopes alive

Konstantin Tereschenko secured his fifth victory of the EuroFormula Open season in race one at the Circuit de Catalunya to keep his chances of winning the championship alive.

The Campos Racing driver led from lights out to the chequered flag from pole position to move within twenty-one points of championship leader Vitor Baptista, who finished third.

Tereschenko held off the challenge of Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru at the start, and was never given a serious challenge, even if his Japanese rival stole the point for fastest lap away from him on the penultimate lap of the race.

RP Motorsport’s Baptista jumped into third position at the start, moving ahead of row two starters Diego Menchaca and Daniel Juncadella, but had no answer to the pace of the front two, finishing 7.885s back.

Juncadella secured fourth for Emilio de Villota Motorsport ahead of Campos Racing’s Menchaca, who claimed rookie honours, while Leonardo Pulcini secured sixth for DAV Racing.

Much like in qualifying, the two Team West-Tec F3 entrants Yarin Stern and Tanart Sathienthirakul were inseparable, finishing seventh and eighth, with Damiano Fioravanti of RP Motorsport and Ferdinand Habsburg from the Drivex School team completing the top ten.

With Juncadella, Habsburg and twelfth place finisher Sam MacLeod of Team West-Tec F3 all ineligible for points as guest drivers, both Igor Walilko and Andres Saravia of RP Motorsport scored points despite finishing eleventh and thirteenth respectively.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 1 Result

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing29m12.753s
216Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+0.904s
33Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport+7.885s
422Daniel JuncadellaESPEmilio de Villota Motorsport+9.024s
57Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+11.406s
677Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing+15.675s
710Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F3+18.872s
815Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+19.618s
95Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+20.320s
1028Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+23.958s
1137Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+25.190s
1212Sam MacLeodGBRTeam West-Tec F3+28.818s
131Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport+31.039s
149Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+42.811s
1517Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+54.817s
164Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+1 Lap
RET8Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos RacingRetired
RET23Kang LingCHNDAV RacingRetired
RET2Kantadhee KusiriTHAMKTGRetired