Vitor Baptista sets the pace in Monza practice

EuroFormula Open championship leader Vitor Baptista was quickest during practice at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza on Friday, although rain affected some of the running.

The Brazilian, who has won the past three races for RP Motorsport to jump ahead of Konstantin Tereschenko in the standings, set a best time of 1m46.361s in the opening of the three Friday sessions, beating Yu Kanamaru by just 0.021s.

Kanamaru, back in an Emilio de Vilotta Motorsport EuroFormula Open car after racing last weekend for Pons Racing in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, was just ahead of Tereschenko, with the Campos Racing driver also within a tenth of a second of Baptista’s pace-setting time.

Alessio Rovera was fourth quickest for DAV Racing ahead of Diego Menchaca of Campos Racing, while Damiano Fioravanti and Igor Walilko of RP Motorsport were sixth and seventh.

Henrique Baptista was eighth in a third Campos Racing entry, while Team West-Tec F3 duo Yarin Stern and Tanart Sathienthirakul completed the top ten.

Kang Ling was eleventh on his first appearance in the championship for DAV Racing, while fellow debutant Mahaveer Raghunathan was seventeenth for Team West-Tec F3.

Monza Free Practice Times (Combined)

13Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m46.361s1m47.244s2m01.980s
216Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m46.382s1m46.888s2m01.787s
36Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing1m46.444s1m48.238s2m02.382s
421Alessio RoveraITADAV Racing1m46.592s1m46.990s2m03.384s
57Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1m46.702s1m48.166s2m02.444s
65Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1m46.716s1m47.857s2m02.286s
737Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport1m46.731s1m47.947s2m03.058s
88Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing1m46.864s1m48.153s2m05.419s
910Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F31m46.866s1m47.366s2m03.172s
1015Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F31m46.901s1m47.247s2m03.328s
1123Kang LingCHNDAV Racing1m46.949s1m47.207s2m03.685s
121Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport1m47.125s1m48.303s2m05.002s
1377Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing1m47.206s1m48.075s2m03.550s
1419William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing1m47.324s1m47.529s2m02.871s
154Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport1m50.493s1m47.843s2m01.987s
162Kantadhee KusiriTHAMKTG1m50.910s1m47.854s2m03.511s
1712Mahaveer RaghunathanINDTeam West-Tec F31m48.027s1m48.022s2m05.578s
1870Parth GhorpadeINDDAV Racing1m48.039s1m48.636s2m04.161s
199Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing1m48.062s1m48.846s2m04.033s
2017Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m48.595s1m48.657s2m03.898s