Wildcard ace Defourny sets Jerez Friday pace

by Paul Hensby

Belgian wildcard entrant Max Defourny led the way in the collective test sessions ahead of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series finale in Jerez on Friday.

The ART Junior Team driver set a time of 1m40.408s in the first of the two sessions on Friday to lead the way, with his time just 0.001s faster than Tech 1 Racing’s Anthoine Hubert, who was the quickest of the championship contending drivers on the day in Spain.

Hubert is only fifteen points behind championship leader Louis Deletraz of Josef Kaufmann Racing, with the Swiss driver and his team having a disappointing day, ending up twenty-fifth fastest out of the twenty-seven drivers competing this weekend.

It wasn’t only a disappointing day for the championship leader, with Kevin Jörg, who sits second in the championship only twenty-first, while third placed Jack Aitken was down in sixteenth for Koiranen GP.

Ben Barnicoat and Jake Hughes, who are mathematically in with a chance of the title, were tenth and eighteenth for Fortec Motorsports and Koiranen GP respectively.

Ukyo Sasahara, the last of the drivers with a chance of the title was third quickest on Friday for the ART Junior Team, but the Japanese driver would need a near-perfect weekend and the rest of the contenders having a pointless run to secure the title.

Simon Gachet, team-mate to Hubert, ended fourth ahead of ARTA Engineering duo Amaury Richard and James Allen, while Russian drivers Vasily Romanov and Matevos Isaakyan were seventh and eighth for Cram Motorsport and JD Motorsport respectively.

Hugo de Sadeleer of Tech 1 Racing and Barnicoat completed the top ten.

The second session saw Isaakyan set the pace ahead of Fortec Motorsports’ Jehan Daruvala, with Ignazio D’Agosto third for Manor MP Motorsport ahead of Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) and Barnicoat.

Jerez Collective Tests Results (Combined)

149Max DefournyBELART Junior Team1m40.408s1m43.068s
222Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m40.409s1m42.410s
39Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m40.487s1m43.361s
421Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m40.510s1m42.733s
525Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m40.615s1m43.990s
626James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m41.113s1m43.430s
751Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m41.206s1m43.148s
835Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m41.229s1m41.665s
920Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m41.313s1m43.486s
106Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m41.630s1m42.109s
1154Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports1m42.380s1m41.704s
1237Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1m41.847s1m43.287s
1319Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m42.681s1m41.885s
1427Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m41.962s1m42.386s
1510Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m42.911s1m41.995s
163Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m42.008s1m42.247s
1759Julien FalcheroFRAGSK Grand Prix1m42.030s1m43.224s
182Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m42.066s1m42.794s
1917Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m42.879s1m42.112s
208Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports1m42.167s1m42.686s
2115Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m42.389s1m42.248s
2236Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m42.366s1m42.466s
235Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m42.470s1m42.442s
2418Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport1m42.824s1m42.458s
2514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m42.997s1m42.580s
2648Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM1m42.856s1m42.598s
2758Denis BulatovRUSAVF1m43.370s1m42.953s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More