Kent Clinches Moto3 Title Despite Oliveira Victory

Miguel Oliveira won his third consecutive Grand Prix in Valencia but Danny Kent finished ninth to clinch the Moto3 world championship. While Oliveira produced another tactical masterclass, Kent stayed out of trouble in a tense finale to become Britain’s first Grand Prix motorcycle world champion since Barry Sheene in 1977.

The pattern of the race was set immediately with Oliveira snatching the lead off the start line from polesitter John McPhee while Kent made steady progress from the sixth row. At the end of lap one, Kent was up to fifteenth, one place short of his target with Oliveira out in front, but the Briton moved himself into position on lap two.

Fabio Quartararo relinquished thirteenth on lap eight while Kent only needed one more lap to grab twelfth from Karel Hanika, the Czech rider highsiding out of contention shortly afterwards. With seven laps to go, Kent climbed to eleventh at the expense of Leopard teammate Hiroki Ono but strange scenes followed as the Japanese rider shadowed the points leader, too closely for his team’s liking, before diving past him on the final lap.

The inter-team squabbling gave Red Bull KTM Ajo hope and although Oliveira took another superbly judged win, overtaking Jorge Navarro at the start of the last lap, a final corner incident made certain of the outcome. With third in the race, and the championship, up for grabs, Niccolo Antonelli made a desperate lunge up the inside of Romano Fenati, sideswiping his compatriot and skittling out Efren Vazquez in the process. With three riders eliminated, Kent was promoted to ninth regardless of his teammate’s actions.

The podium was completed by Navarro and Jakub Kornfeil with Brad Binder inheriting fourth ahead of Enea Bastianini and Isaac Vinales. McPhee fell from pole to seventh with Ono leading his title-winning teammate home in eighth.



144. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo40:09.792
29. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.198
384. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+2.090
441. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+2.121
533. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Team Moto3+2.975
632. Isaac VinalesKTMRBA Racing Team+3.343
717. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG+4.087
876. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing+9.627
952. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing+9.914
1065. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+10.580
1116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+10.661
128. Niccolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+11.642
1321. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+16.741
1488. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+20.196
1510. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG+21.531
1695. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+21.552
1763. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+21.868
1840. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+25.114
1929. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+25.301
2011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP+25.331
216. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+25.655
2248. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+32.973
234. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Team Moto3+33.019
2422. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team+33.549
2596. Manuel PaglianiMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+33.953
NC7. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing+1 Lap
NC5. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+1 Lap
NC23. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+1 Lap
NC19. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+4 Laps
NC98. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+14 Laps
NC20. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+14 Laps
NC58. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+17 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP+17 Laps
NC2. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP+19 Laps
NC91. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+24 Laps