McPhee on Valencia Pole as Kent Suffers

John McPhee will start from pole position for the second time in three races but Danny Kent faces a real battle to claim the Moto3 world title tomorrow after qualifying a disastrous eighteenth. The championship leader was unable to deliver a fast lap amid traffic in the closing stages and starts fourteen places behind title rival Miguel Oliveira, who lines up fourth.

In the early stages of the session, with traffic much less of an issue, Kent chose to focus on race preparation and clocked consistent lap times in the 1:40s but that would prove to be a mistake, with his path blocked at every turn on his final run. McPhee had gone a different route and set a 1:39.364 nine minutes in, a time that would ultimately secure him pole position.

Jorge Navarro actually clocked a quicker time at the halfway stage but provisional pole was soon ripped from his grasp by race direction who adjudged him to have exceeded track limits at turn twelve, deleting his best attempt. Romano Fenati was the other beneficiary with the Sky VR46 rider promoted to second while Efren Vazquez salvaged some good news from the session for Leopard by completing the front row.

Oliveira didn’t enjoy the smoothest of sessions himself but a last ditch flyer lifted him to fourth ahead of Navarro while Italian pair Enea Bastianini and Niccolo Antonelli will start sixth and seventh as they prepare to contest third in the championship with Fenati. Red Bull KTM Ajo riders Karel Hanika and Brad Binder line up eighth and ninth and are sure to prove tricky obstacles for Kent tomorrow while the Briton’s other teammate, Hiroki Ono, is tenth on the grid.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
117. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:39.364
25. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.450
37. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:39.463
444. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.503
59. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.525
633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Team Moto31:39.581
723. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:39.591
898. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.617
941. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:39.666
1076. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:39.668
1120. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:39.686
1284. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:39.763
1332. Isaac VinalesKTMRBA Racing Team1:39.763
1465. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:39.920
1516. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.952
168. Niccolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:39.964
1795. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:40.006
1852. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:40.013
1921. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:40.014
2010. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:40.063
2163. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:40.071
226. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:40.324
2348. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:40.359
2488. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:40.380
2511. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:40.496
2629. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:40.535
274. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Team Moto31:40.552
2840. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:40.588
2996. Manuel PaglianiMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:40.619
3058. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:40.674
3122. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:40.795
322. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:41.041
3319. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:41.063
3424. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:41.162
3591. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:42.517