Formula Renault 2.0

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS championship cancelled

1 Mins read

The 2016 Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS season has been cancelled by its promoters Fast Lane Promotion, although the Italian company are hoping to re-launch the championship when ‘more favourable’ conditions prevail.

The championship has been in action for fifteen years but will take a sabbatical for at least 2016, with Jack Aitken having taken the title last season, but the series had looked in doubt when front running outfit Koiranen GP, who took Aitken to the crown, withdrew to concentrate on its GP3 Series and Formula 4 programmes.

Koiranen fielded five of the regular 14 entries throughout the 2015 season, and without their presence, the field has been weakened, and this means Formula Renault 2.0 competitors will only have the Eurocup and Northern European Cup championships to compete in.

Past champions of ALPS include current Red Bull Racing Formula 1 driver Daniil Kvyat as well as DTM Series racer Nico Muller.

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply