BRDC F4 Champion Palmer steps up to Eurocup

2015 BRDC Formula 4 Champion and McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner Will Palmer will race with the ART Junior Team in a dual campaign of Formula Renault 2.0 in 2016.

The eighteen-year-old will race in both the Eurocup and Northern European Cup series with the French team having made his 2.0-litre Renault début at Silverstone last September, securing two top-ten finishes across the three races.

Palmer dominated the BRDC F4 championship in 2015, winning on twelve occasions, and joins up-and-coming Belgian talent Max Defourny in the ART Junior Team squad for 2016.

“I’m really looking forward to racing in Europe next year for the first time, especially in a series as competitive as Formula Renault Eurocup, which has produced many great drivers in the past,” revealed Palmer.

“By combining a programme in Eurocup with one in NEC, I will have the opportunity to learn a huge number of high-profile circuits in Europe including Monaco, which will be an incredible track to race at.

“It’s also great to be joining the ART Junior Team, who I have experience of working with having raced with them at Silverstone last year. They have a long and successful history in the series, and I am confident that together we will be able to hit the ground running when the season gets underway in April.”