British Rally Championship

British Rallycross announces new event format for 2016 season

1 Mins read
Craig Lomax managed to clinch the Hot Hatch 2014 title

The MSA British Rallycross Championship will feature a new event format for the 2016 season as organisers look to fall in line with other series.

For the new season, every competitor will compete in three heats with the top sixteen at the end of the heat stages (now called the Intermediate Classification), divided into two eight-car semi-finals. The top four from each semi-final will qualify for the eight-car final.

While there will be no major change to the points structure and all three heat times will count towards the Intermediate Classification, there will be two bonus points for the driver in each category setting the fastest time in the qualifying heats. Bonus points for entering on time and Supercar timed practice have been dropped.

BARC and LHMC will continue to run the championship for 2016 and Tim Whittington has been appointed Championship Manager for the news season.

“The FIA World Rallycross Championship has lifted the profile of rallycross in general, the MSA British Championship needs to capitalise on that now.” said Whittington.

“There is a group of knowledgeable volunteers in the championship, it’s important to harness their enthusiasm together with the passion of competitors to improve the way in which events are presented and develop the championship. Changes in format will make best use of track time and offer drivers and fans more track action. Fundamentally it has all the components of a very good championship, it’s just a question of putting it together properly.”

Other changes for 2016 include a single fuel supplier in the paddock with Carless Fuel (Vital Equipment) providing their services.

Related posts
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFeaturesFIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCNational RallyOpinionRallyWRC2WRC3

FEATURE: The New Rally Pyramid - Everything You Need To Know

5 Mins read
The FIA have recently introduced a new rallying pyramid into the sport and this handy guide will explain what each class is all about.
British Rally Championship

Seven Round 2021 British Rally Championship Calendar Announced

2 Mins read
The 2021 British Rally Championship will take place over seven events, with two of the rounds being completely new to the series.
British Rally ChampionshipEuropean Rally ChampionshipFIA World Rally ChampionshipWRC2WRC3

Revamped C3 Rally2 Revealed by Citroen Racing

2 Mins read
Citroen Racing have revealed a new for 2021 C3 Rally2, that builds on the success of the C3 R5 while aiming to reduce running costs for customers.

Leave a Reply