Formula Renault 2.0

NEC return for Alex Gill with Mark Burdett Motorsport

1 Mins read

Eighteen-year-old British prospect Alex Gill will return to the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup (NEC) for a second season in 2016 and will lead the Mark Burdett Motorsport team.

The teenager moves across from Fortec Motorsports where he claimed one podium finish at the Red Bull Ring on his way to eighth place in the championship, with the Womersley-born Gill looking to progress further in his sophomore season.

“I’m really pleased to be joining Mark’s team this year, he runs a great operation and always puts out a good car – the couple of tests I did over the winter proved that,” said Gill. “I feel like everything is in place for a strong season for all of us.”

Team Principal Mark Burdett has welcomed Gill to the team, and believes he will be able to propel the team to new levels in 2016 in what will be a multi-car effort in the championship.

“We’ve watched Alex’s fantastic progress since karting and he’s exactly the sort of driver we wanted this year,” said Burdett. “He’s a great young talent, very fast and committed and obviously has good experience to call on from last season in NEC.

“I personally rate Alex very highly, he’s one of Britain’s best young racers and we’re all delighted to be working with him this season. He’s only done a couple of tests with us up to now, but he fitted in straight away and really impressed everyone. It’s great for the team to have a driver of his quality leading our challenge in such a competitive championship.”

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply