Bulega Makes Bright Start at Jerez Moto3 Test

Nicolo Bulega was the surprise pacesetter on the opening day of the official Moto3 pre-season test at Jerez. The Italian rookie, the reigning FIM CEV Junior World Champion, took the sole victory of his title-winning campaign here in November and was impressive again on Wednesday, outpacing Niccolo Antonelli.

Making full use of his knowledge of the Spanish circuits, Bulega was quick from the outset, leading Antonelli in the morning session. The times would tumble later in the afternoon though and with Antonelli among the minority in failing to improve, Bulega extended his advantage to 0.270s by the time the chequered flag came out.

Antonelli’s morning time was still good enough for second with Jorge Navarro’s afternoon time lifting him to third ahead of fellow championship favourite Enea Bastianini. Philipp Oettl, the fastest man in the second session, took fifth overall ahead of Fabio Quartararo, now aboard a KTM with the 2015 title-winning Leopard squad.

Brad Binder, now the team leader at Red Bull KTM Ajo, was seventh fastest ahead of Romano Fenati who trailed his rookie teammate by seven tenths and seven places. Francesco Bagnaia was the quickest rider aboard the new 2016-spec Mahindra, taking ninth ahead of Leopard Racing’s Joan Mir, but the newly-named Peugeot team made an understated start, John McPhee finishing 1.885s off the pace in 23rd.


Moto3 Official Test – Jerez (Day One Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
18. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:46.591
223. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:46.861
39. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:46.967
433. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:47.073
565. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:47.186
620. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:47.303
741. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.318
85. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.361
921. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMAPFRE Team Mahindra1:47.447
1036. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:47.492
1188. Jorge MartinMahindraMAPFRE Team Mahindra1:47.510
1216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.519
1358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.738
1411. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:47.867
1564. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.878
1689. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:47.903
1755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:48.108
1840. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:48.149
1919. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:48.217
2095. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:48.309
2184. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:48.403
2298. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:48.462
2317. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot Saxoprint Motocycles1:48.476
2444. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:48.633
256. Maria HerreraKTMTeam Laglisse1:48.714
264. Fabio di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:48.723
2724. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:48.754
287. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:48.899
2910. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot Saxoprint Motocycles1:48.950
3077. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:49.226
3176. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:49.312
3243. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:50.046
333. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:50.537