Fenati On Top at Jerez as Bulega Impresses Again

Romano Fenati completed an excellent week for Sky Racing Team VR46 by topping the overall timesheets at the Jerez test. The Italian set the pace ahead of Estrella Galicia’s Jorge Navarro while Nicolo Bulega enjoyed another sensational outing, going quickest on day three to secure third overall.

With mixed weather conditions limiting dry track time on the final day, Thursday saw the quickest laps with Fenati clocking a 1:46.445, a tenth inside the benchmark set by his rookie teammate 24 hours earlier. Navarro, the man charged with the task of leading Estrella Galicia 0,0 this season, set a 1:46.505 to split the Sky VR46 riders.

Despite the morning rain, Bulega still managed to improve his personal best time on Friday, one of only nine riders to do so. The 16 year old closed to within 0.094s of his compatriot, while Niccolo Antonelli completed a consistent week with the fourth fastest time on his Ongetta-Rivacold Honda. Brad Binder and Enea Bastianini completed a top six featuring an even split of KTMs and Hondas, suggesting the two manufacturers are closely matched heading into the new season, while Joan Mir took a solid seventh, proving that Bulega will not be the only rookie to watch out for.

Livio Loi was eighth fastest ahead of Jorge Martin on the leading Mahindra which was seen sporting winglets on the final day. Andrea Migno was next up, ensuring all three Sky VR46 riders ended the week inside the top ten.


Moto3 Official Test – Jerez (Combined Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:46.445
29. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:46.505
38. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:46.539
423. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:46.550
541. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:46.618
633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:46.725
736. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:46.725
811. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:46.890
988. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:46.894
1016. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.021
1165. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:47.186
1220. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:47.303
1358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.353
1484. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:47.419
1521. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:47.477
1619. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.504
1795. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:47.533
1844. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:47.563
1964. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.730
206. Maria HerreraKTMTeam Laglisse1:47.876
2155. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:47.878
2289. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:47.903
2340. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:48.038
2498. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:48.048
2517. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:48.085
2624. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:48.188
2776. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:48.245
2810. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:48.492
294. Fabio di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:48.539
307. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:48.642
3143. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia1:49.159
3277. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:49.226
333. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:50.537