Iannone Stays Ahead in Frantic Final Practice

Andrea Iannone heads into Saturday as the fastest rider after maintaining his advantage over the MotoGP field in FP3 at Losail. With Q2 places up for grabs, the 45 minute session was typically frantic with the top twelve riders covered by less than a second, leading to some high-profile casualties.

Iannone had topped this evening’s earlier practice session with a 1:55.388 but he was knocked off top spot within fifteen minutes of FP3 going green, Dani Pedrosa lowering the benchmark time by three hundredths of a second. The Spaniard remained unbeaten until the late flurry of laps with Andrea Dovizioso returning Ducati to the top before Jorge Lorenzo became the first rider to break into the 1:54s.

That temporarily gave the world champion a half-second advantage over his rivals but Iannone brought Ducati back on terms with Yamaha, clocking a 1:54.639 to secure top spot by 0.137s. Marc Marquez also broke into the 1:54s to snatch third from Dovizioso while Maverick Vinales demoted Pedrosa to sixth. Valentino Rossi flirted with elimination at one stage but a late burst lifted him back up to seventh, sending him safely through to Q2.

The other top ten places weren’t as clear cut with Bradley Smith climbing to tenth, only to crash heavily moments later. The Briton was subsequently knocked down to twelfth with Hector Barbera, Scott Redding and Pol Espargaro securing Q2 spots in his place.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
129. Andrea IANNONEDucatiDucati Team1:54.639
299. Jorge LORENZOYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:54.776
393. Marc MARQUEZHondaRepsol Honda Team1:54.835
44. Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiDucati Team1:54.945
525. Maverick VINALESSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:54.976
626. Dani PEDROSAHondaRepsol Honda Team1:55.113
746. Valentino ROSSIYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:55.175
88. Hector BARBERADucatiAvintia Racing1:55.323
945. Scott REDDINGDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:55.399
1044. Pol ESPARGAROYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:55.476
1141. Aleix ESPARGAROSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:55.491
1238. Bradley SMITHYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:55.505
1376. Loris BAZDucatiAvintia Racing1:55.773
149. Danilo PETRUCCIDucatiOcto Pramac Yakhnich1:55.931
1535. Cal CRUTCHLOWHondaLCR Honda1:55.946
1668. Yonny HERNANDEZDucatiAspar MotoGP Team1:56.100
1743. Jack MILLERHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:56.207
1853. Tito RABATHondaEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:56.625
1919. Alvaro BAUTISTAApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:56.749
206. Stefan BRADLApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:57.069
2150. Eugene LAVERTYDucatiAspar MotoGP Team1:57.135