Lorenzo Leads on Opening Night of Qatar Test

1 Mins read

Jorge Lorenzo re-established his superiority over the MotoGP field by setting the pace on the first evening of the final pre-season test at Losail. The world champion endured a difficult three days at Phillip Island two weeks ago but returned to form in Qatar, leading Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi by four tenths of a second.

As day turned to dusk, the quickest time switched between three different riders with three different manufacturers. Although Suzuki’s Vinales and Ducati’s Andrea Iannone each took turns at the top, Lorenzo would ultimately take the honours on day one with a 1:55.452. Vinales would end the night in second, backing up his sensational form from Phillip Island.

Iannone was pushed back to fourth by Rossi although the Movistar Yamaha rider blotted his copybook with a slow speed crash at turn ten early on. Rossi recovered to clock a 1:55.894, four hundredths shy of Vinales and the final rider to drop under the 1m56 barrier.

Behind Iannone came another trio of Ducatis, each of different spec, with Scott Redding taking fifth for Pramac aboard his GP15 ahead of the GP14.2 of Avintia’s Hector Barbera. Andrea Dovizioso took the 2016 machine to seventh ahead of British pair Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith while Marc Marquez could only manage tenth on the leading Repsol Honda.

The day was also highlighted by the public debut of the new Aprilia RS-GP but Stefan Bradl and Alvaro Bautista failed to light up the timing screens on Wednesday, finishing over two seconds adrift in 19th and 22nd respectively.


MotoGP Official Test – Losail (Day One Result)

[table id=818 /]

Related posts

Oliveira and Tech3 victorious in Styria

3 Mins read
Miguel Oliveira claimed his maiden win in the premier class and for Red Bull KTM Tech3 in a stop-start second AustrianGP.

Espargaro takes maiden pole at home for KTM

2 Mins read
Pol Espargaro takes historic maiden pole for Red Bull KTM in the second visit to the Austrian track.

Dovizioso victorious in drama filled AustrianGP

3 Mins read
Ducati continue their Austria domination as Dovizioso stormed to victory to take Ducati’s 50th victory after a horrendous accident brings out the red flag.

Leave a Reply