Will Power grabs St Pete pole in Penske 1-2-3-4

1 Mins read

Will Power recovered from a practice crash on Friday to take his sixth pole position in seven years around the streets of St Petersburg.

The Australian driver led a Team Penske cleansweep of front two rows, with Simon Pagenaud, Helio Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya finishing second, third and fourth respectively.

Power’s lap of 1m00.2450s was enough to beat Frenchman Pagenaud by 0.1971s to take his 43rd Verizon IndyCar Series pole position, while Brazilian Castroneves and Colombian Montoya were 0.2545s and 0.2862s back respectively.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon was the best of the rest in fifth for Chip Ganassi Racing, while former champion Ryan Hunter-Reay will start sixth for Andretti Autosport, with the American the only Honda representative in the fast six shootout for pole position.

Just missing out on the top six was Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal, while the sole KVSH Racing entry of Sebastien Bourdais qualified eighth ahead of James Hinchcliffe of Schmidt Peterson Racing.

Jack Hawksworth completed the top ten just ahead of Foyt team-mate Takuma Sato, while Josef Newgarden was the final driver to make it through to Q2, and will start in twelfth for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Rookies Max Chilton, Alexander Rossi, Conor Daly and Spencer Pigot were all eliminated from their respective groups in Q1, as well as former series champion Tony Kanaan, who will start down in P20.

St Petersburg Qualifying Result

[table id=838 /]

Related posts

Palou Claims Maiden IndyCar Victory in Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

5 Mins read
Alex Palou claims his maiden IndyCar win at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama in his first race with Chip Ganassi Racing

Pato on Pole! O'Ward Fastest in First Qualifying of the Season at Barber

2 Mins read
Patricio O’Ward takes his second career NTT IndyCar Series pole position for the season-opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Rossi Fastest in Chaotic Practice 2 at Barber

3 Mins read
After three red flags in the session, Alexander Rossi set the fastest lap in Practice 2 for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

Leave a Reply