Pulcini, Menchaca share opening Winter Series victories

Campos Racing duo Leonardo Pulcini and Diego Menchaca shared the victories as the Winter Series of the EuroFormula Open championship got underway at the French circuit of Paul Ricard on Saturday.

Italian teenager Pulcini drafted passed pole-sitter Ferdinand Habsburg on the opening lap of race one and never relinquished his position until the chequered flag, although he was unable to drop his rivals, with the top four ending the race less than two seconds apart.

Teo Martin Motorsport’s Tatiana Calderon also managed to pass Habsburg on the second lap, and was able to claim a podium finish in second position, while Drivex School racer Habsburg was able hold off Menchaca for the final position on the podium.

RP Motorsport trio Damiano Fioravanti, Antoni Ptak and Jack Aitken claimed fifth, sixth and seventh, the latter standing in for an unwell Matteo Ferrer.

Campos Racing’s Julio Moreno was eighth, with RP Motorsport’s Kusiri Kantadhee and DAV Racing’s Riccardo Cazzaniga completing the top ten, although Igor Walilko did finish fifth on the road but was award a post-race thirty-second penalty that relegated the Polish driver to eleventh.

Ptak started race two from pole position as the top six from race one were reversed, but lost out to Menchaca on the run down to the first corner, while Habsburg was quickly up into second.

The two at the front made a break from the pack, while Ptak continued to drop back, losing third to Pulcini, ultimately finishing sixth behind Moreno and Calderon.

Aitken, Fioravanti, Kantadhee and Daniel Pronenko of BVM Racing completed the top ten, with the Winter Series continuing at the Circuit de Catalunya in two weeks time.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Result

18Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing28m32.486s
210Tatiana CalderonCOLTeo Martin Motorsport+0.938s
362Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+1.556s
47Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+1.802s
55Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+12.428s
61Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport+13.556s
73Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport+13.860s
86Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+18.857s
92Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+23.653s
1077Riccardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing+34.945s
1137Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+38.105s
1214Jose-Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport+38.430s
1320Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+50.716s
1421Nicholas Loro SilvaUSADrivex School+53.788s
1547Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+1m05.850s
1651Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+1m09.679s
1715Alex JT LiangCHNTeam West-Tec F3+1m20.548s
189Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing+1m22.434s
1911Petru FlorescuROMTeo Martin Motorsport+1 Lap
RET12Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin MotorsportRetired
RET27Kang LingCHNDAV RacingRetired

Paul Ricard Race 2 Result

17Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing28m35.371s
262Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School+1.776s
38Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+6.383s
46Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing+8.424s
510Tatiana CalderonCOLTeo Martin Motorsport+10.818s
61Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport+17.953s
73Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport+18.905s
85Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+19.712s
92Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport+20.180s
1020Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing+20.773s
1177Riccardo CazzanigaITADAV Racing+22.669s
1214Jose-Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport+25.178s
1311Petru FlorescuROMTeo Martin Motorsport+32.345s
1447Keyvan AndresGERCarlin+34.454s
1521Nicholas Loro SilvaUSADrivex School+45.828s
1615Alex JT LiangCHNTeam West-Tec F3+1m19.083s
179Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing+1m34.828s
1837Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+2 Laps
1951Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin+3 Laps
RET12Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin MotorsportRetired
DNS27Kang LingCHNDAV RacingDid Not Start