EuroFormula Open

Aitken swoops to take race two Estoril pole

1 Mins read

Jack Aitken denied Leonardo Pulcini another pole position for race two at Estoril on Sunday morning after a superb late lap saw the wildcard entry grab top spot.

The RP Motorsport driver set a time of 1m32.338s to deny Pulcini by 0.153s, with the Campos Racing driver having been looking to secure a second pole of the weekend only to be denied by Aitken.

Damiano Fioravanti made it two RP machines inside the top three with the third quickest time, 0.205s back on Aitken, while Diego Menchaca was fourth for Campos Racing, a further 0.104s behind Fioravanti.

Carlin’s Colton Herta was fifth ahead of race one runner-up Ferdinand Habsburg of Drivex School, with Tatiana Calderon seventh for Teo Martin Motorsport ahead of Igor Walilko of Fortec Motorsports.

Julio Moreno secured ninth for Campos Racing ahead of Antoni Ptak of RP Motorsport in a close midfield battle that saw places ninth through to fourteenth separated by just 0.070s.

Kantadhee Kusiri, Keyvan Andres, Kang Ling and Nikita Zlobin were all a part of this zone, with all missing out on the top ten by the smallest of margins.

Estoril Race 2 Qualifying Times

[table id=1014 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.