Formula Renault 2.0

Aragon lap record sees Norris end Eurocup testing on top

1 Mins read

Lando Norris ended the final day of pre-season testing for the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series with the lap record around Motorland Aragon ahead of the new season that begins at the same track next week.

Much like the opening day on Thursday, it was an all-British 1-2 at the top, with Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Norris’ 1m54.664s leading AVF’s Harrison Scott by 0.218s.

Dorian Boccolacci also continued his strong Motorland form with the third fastest time for the second consecutive day for Tech 1 Racing, with the former European Formula 3 driver 0.588s off the pace.

Henrique Chaves was fourth for AVF ahead of Josef Kaufmann duo Jehan Daruvala and ADAC Formula 4 graduate Robert Shwartzman, with Gabriel Aubry seventh for Tech 1 Racing.

Will Palmer ended the leading R-Ace GP driver in eighth, while Philip Hamprecht of Cram Motorsport and Alexey Korneev of JD Motorsport completed the top ten.

All bar one of the twenty-four drivers set their best time during the morning session, with only twenty-second placed David Richert improving in the afternoon session.

Norris was quickest again in the slower afternoon session with a 1m55.452s ahead of Shwartzman, Daruvala, Nikita Troitskiy (Fortec Motorsports) and Scott.

Motorland Aragon Pre-Season Test Day 2 Times

[table id=942 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.