Bulega Bags Maiden Moto3 Pole Position at Jerez

Nicolo Bulega showed the form which took him to the Moto3 Junior World Championship by claiming his first pole position at Grand Prix level at Jerez. The Italian, benefiting from his familiarity with the Spanish circuits, outpaced championship frontrunners Brad Binder and Jorge Navarro as traffic prevented any late improvements.

In the early stages, Enea Bastianini set the benchmark on a 1:47.348 ahead of compatriot Niccolo Antonelli but Navarro quickly established his superiority, lapping a third of a second faster. The Spaniard would become the first rider to break into the 1:46s on his second run but Antonelli’s pole position bid soon faltered, the Ongetta rider losing the front end of his Honda at the final corner and hobbling away from the scene.

Binder had been the dominant force through free practice and the South African looked set to launch a pole position challenge in the closing stages but he had already been upstaged by Bulega, the Sky VR46 rider knocking half a second off Navarro’s time to go quickest. Binder did produce a personal best to edge out the Spaniard but Bulega’s stunning improvement left the championship leader to settle for second.

Francesco Bagnaia leapt up to third on the Aspar Mahindra late on, relegating the pain-stricken Antonelli to fifth, while Enea Bastianini tumbled to sixth after a slow-speed crash at turn two on his Gresini Honda. Joan Mir will head the third row on the leading Leopard KTM with Juanfran Guevara and Romano Fenati alongside while Jakub Kornfeil rounds out the top ten.


Moto3 Gran Premio Red Bull de Espana (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
18. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR461:46.223
241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:46.436
39. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:46.678
421. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:46.680
523. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:46.705
633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto31:46.827
736. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing1:46.962
858. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team1:46.967
95. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.072
1084. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:47.131
1144. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:47.154
1220. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing1:47.271
1365. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:47.276
1488. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto31:47.281
1595. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:47.325
1612. Albert ArenasMahindraMRW Mahindra Aspar Team1:47.361
1716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.397
1864. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.528
1976. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia1:47.580
2011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV1:47.618
2124. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:47.654
224. Fabio di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto31:47.734
2319. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.736
2489. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia1:47.740
2517. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:47.746
2698. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:47.830
2755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing1:47.978
287. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:48.025
2937. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport1:48.090
3010. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint1:48.431
3140. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate1:48.499
3277. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia1:48.595
336. Maria HerreraKTMTeam Laglisse1:49.245
343. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker1:49.580
3599. Enzo BoulomKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport1:49.821
3643. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team ItaliaNo Time