Formula Renault 2.0

Daruvala on top as Eurocup season begins in Spain

1 Mins read

Indian star Jehan Daruvala set the quickest time in the opening Collective Test session of the 2016 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season on Friday morning.

Josef Kaufmann Racing driver and Sahara Force India-backed Daruvala set a time of 1m56.150s to lead the twenty-four car strong field at Motorland Aragon.

Belgian ace Max Defourny ended just 0.030s adrift in second for R-ace GP, while Britons Harrison Scott and Lando Norris were third and fourth for AVF and Josef Kaufmann Racing respectively.

Dorian Boccolacci ended the session in fifth in the leading of the Tech 1 Racing entries, while the third Josef Kaufmann Racing entry of Russian Robert Shwartzman was sixth.

2015 BRDC F4 champion and McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner Will Palmer ended the session in seventh for R-ace GP, ahead of Tech 1 Racing’s Gabriel Aubry, while Ferdinand Habsburg and Vasily Romanov completed the top ten for Fortec Motorsports.

The weekend continues later on Friday with the second collective test session for the 2.0-litre cars, while the opening qualifying and the first two races of the year take place on Saturday.

Motorland Aragon Collective Test 1 Times

[table id=962 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.