Formula Renault 2.0

Defourny strikes first to take maiden Eurocup victory

1 Mins read

Max Defourny lead from start to finish despite the attention of Lando Norris to secure his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory at Motorland Aragon on Saturday.

R-ace GP ace Defourny withstood early pressure from Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Norris before building a small gap, eventually crossing the line 1.847s clear of his rival.

Norris’ Kaufmann team-mate Jehan Daruvala completed the podium, with the Indian racer finishing 7.349s off the win but less than half a second clear of Harrison Scott in the leading AVF machine.

Robert Shwartzman made it an excellent first race for Josef Kaufmann Racing by finishing fifth, ahead of Bruno Baptista of Fortec Motorsports, while AVF’s Henrique Chaves claimed seventh.

Wildcard entrant Nikita Troitskiy finished eighth on the road but is ineligible for points this weekend, meaning the trio Alexey Korneev (JD Motorsport), Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec) and Dorian Boccolacci (Tech 1 Racing) all score points for the position ahead to where they finished on the road.

For Boccolacci it was a difficult opening race, with the Frenchman running third in the early stages of the race and challenging Norris before fading down the order as a problem developed on his Tech 1 Racing car.

It was not a good race overall for Tech 1 Racing, with both Sacha Fenestraz and Gabriel Aubry being forced to retire with mechanical issues, while Hugo de Sadeleer was an innocent victim of a crash between Alessandro Perullo and Rodrigo Pflucker.

Perullo’s Technorace car clipped the rear of Pflucker’s Cram Motorsport car and then, out of control, wiped out de Sadelleer, ending both their races, although Pflucker was able to continue.

Motorland Aragon Race 1 Result

[table id=970 /]

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply