Fenati Sees Off Navarro to Win in Austin

Romano Fenati became the third different winner in three races at the start of the 2016 Moto3 season after a commanding performance at the Circuit of the Americas. The Italian proved too strong for early leader Jorge Navarro and claimed his seventh career victory, moving him to within fourteen points of the championship lead.

After his surprise pole position on Saturday, all eyes were on Philipp Oettl at the start but the German was outdragged on the approach to turn one while Fenati leapt from fifth to third. Navarro’s early pace threatened to drop the chasing group but crucially, Fenati grabbed second on lap two to ensure the Spaniard would be kept in sight.

Five laps in, the gap still stood at over a second but Fenati soon upped the pace to bring him onto Navarro’s tail and on lap eight, the pressure told as the Estrella Galicia rider overshot turn one, handing Romano the lead. A second mistake at the same corner three laps later would hand an even greater advantage to the Sky VR46 rider, an advantage that he wouldn’t give up.

At one stage, Fabio Quartararo looked set for a second podium in two visits to the Circuit of the Americas but a gearbox problem in the closing stages saw him plummet down the order to thirteenth.  Brad Binder was the man to take full advantage, passing Oettl on the final lap to snatch the final podium position and retain the championship lead.

Andrea Locatelli salvaged fifth spot for Leopard after Quartararo’s misfortune while Enea Bastianini finished sixth for Gresini. Spanish rookie Aron Canet rode a superb race to take seventh from 22nd on the grid while Livio Loi and Jules Danilo finished eighth and ninth, just ahead of another rookie, Nicolo Bulega.


Moto3 Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas (Race Result)

15. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR4641:14.86825
29. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+6.61220
341. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+10.53516
465. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+10.97513
555. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+13.84511
633. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto3+14.12310
744. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+16.3099
811. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+21.8418
995. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+22.0047
108. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+22.3516
1184. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+22.7145
1258. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+22.7644
1320. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+26.0243
1421. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+28.1612
1516. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+28.2591
1610. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+39.223
174. Fabio di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+39.348
1819. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+39.739
1924. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+40.160
2089. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia+48.107
2117. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+48.334
2264. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+48.442
236. Maria HerreraKTMTeam Laglisse+1:15.871
2477. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+1:16.043
2576. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+1:19.441
263. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+1:45.929
NC23. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+2 Laps
NC98. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+7 Laps
NC43. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+9 Laps
NC88. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+11 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+13 Laps
NC36. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+14 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+17 Laps