Formula Renault 2.0

Norris beats Boccolacci to secure race two Motorland victory

1 Mins read

Lando Norris took victory in the second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series race of the day at Motorland Aragon after taking the lead into the first corner from pole sitter and race one winner Max Defourny.

The highly rated British racer never looked back, and won by 1.604s from Tech 1 Racing’s Dorian Boccolacci, who along with AVF’s Harrison Scott found a way passed R-ace GP’s Defourny, with Norris taking the early championship lead as a result.

Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Norris had to survive a mid-race safety car after two Fortec Motorsport team-mates tangled at the hairpin, with both wildcard entrant Nikita Troitskiy and full-time driver Vasily Romanov retiring as a result.

Jehan Daruvala secured fifth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, finishing on the tail of Defourny as the top five finished less than five seconds apart at the chequered flag, with light rain affecting track conditions over the closing laps.

Will Palmer drove strongly to claim sixth at the chequered flag for R-ace GP after starting outside the top ten, and he held off a long train of cars over the closing laps, finishing 13.145s off P1 but a little over two seconds ahead of P12.

Right on Palmer’s tail at the flag was Fortec’s Ferdinand Habsburg, while Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Robert Shwartzman, AVF’s Henrique Chaves and Tech 1 Racing’s Gabriel Aubry claiming the final points.

There was a scary looking crash on the final lap for AVF’s Nerses Isaakyan, who found himself flipped upside down after a clash with Tech 1 Racing’s Sacha Fenestraz, with the Russian driver lucky to escape unharmed.

Motorland Aragon Race 2 Result

[table id=972 /]

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply