Formula Renault 2.0

Norris beats Defourny to final Motorland pole

1 Mins read

On the back of his first win on Saturday, Lando Norris secured his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole position as he led Group A at Motorland Aragon on Sunday.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver set a best time of 1m55.294s to outpace Group B pacesetter Max Defourny of R-ace GP by just under two-tenths of a second.

Having set the second fastest time in Group A behind Norris, his fellow Briton Harrison Scott will therefore start third for AVF, alongside Tech 1 Racing’s Dorian Boccolacci, with the Frenchman second fastest behind Defourny in Group B.

Fortec Motorsports will fill out row three, with Russian wildcard entrant Nikita Troitskiy outpacing all of his team-mates during the session, with Brazilian Bruno Baptista alongside his team-mate in sixth.

Frenchman Julien Falcero will start seventh for R-ace GP alongside Russian teenager Robert Shwartzman of Josef Kaufmann Racing, while two more Russians, Alexey Korneev and Vasily Romanov completed the top ten, for JD Motorsport and Fortec respectively.

Following his crash during race one, the sole Technorace driver Alessandro Perullo did not take to the track, having been ruled out of the weekend due to the damage incurred when he hit Rodrigo Pflucker and then Hugo de Sadeleer. Cram Motorsport’s Pflucker will start race three from twenty-second position, while Tech 1 Racing’s de Sadeleer was seventeenth.

Motorland Aragon Race 3 Qualifying Times

[table id=976 /]

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply