Formula Renault 2.0

Norris doubles up in Motorland Aragon finale

1 Mins read

Lando Norris secured his second victory of the opening weekend of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season at Motorland Aragon, leading from start to finish ahead of Max Defourny.

The two pre-race championship favourites vied for position around mid-distance, but Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Norris held on ahead of R-ace GP’s Defourny, ultimately winning by 1.274s.

Harrison Scott held off the challenge of Dorian Boccolacci for the final spot on the podium, with the AVF driver beating the Tech 1 Racing driver by 0.441s.

Wildcard entrant Nikita Troitskiy was able to maintain his grid position in fifth, ahead of Fortec Motorsports team-mate Bruno Baptista, who held off the challenge of R-ace GP’s Julien Falchero for sixth.

Alexey Korneev secured eighth for JD Motorsport after finding a way past the Josef Kaufmann Racing entry of Robert Shwartzman, while Vasily Romanov completed the top ten for Fortec Motorsports.

With Troitskiy unable to score points as a wildcard driver, the final point ultimately went to Tech 1 Racing’s Gabriel Aubry, who held off the advances of Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec) and Jehan Daruvala (Kaufmann) until the chequered flag. For Daruvala it was a disappointing final race, having lost four places on lap four and being unable to return to the points-paying positions.

Motorland Aragon Race 3 Result

[table id=977 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.