Norris leads Scott on day one of Motorland test

Lando Norris continued his impressive start to his Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series programme as he set the quickest time on day one of the final pre-season test at Motorland Aragon on Thursday.

The 2015 MSA Formula champion edged out fellow Briton Harrison Scott, with the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver beating the AVF driver by just 0.047s having already set the pace during the first test at Paul Ricard last month.

Scott had led the morning session with a time of 1m56.704s, but the afternoon’s running was the quicker session, and it was Norris who set the pace with a 1m55.860s.

Behind the two Britons was Frenchman Dorian Boccolacci, with the Tech 1 Racing driver quick in both sessions, ending the day just 0.156s off the ultimate pace.

Henrique Chaves made it two AVF entries inside the top four, but was 0.421s back, with another Frenchman Julien Falchero rounding out the top five for R-Ace GP, a further 0.031s back on the Portuguese driver.

Jehan Daruvala was sixth in the second Josef Kaufmann Racing entry, ahead of the third of Robert Shwartzman, with 2015 BRDC F4 champion Will Palmer eighth for R-Ace GP, while Tech 1 Racing’s Hugo de Sadeleer and Sacha Fenestraz completed the top ten.

One of the championship favourites Max Defourny did not take part in Thursday’s running, with the talented Belgian complaining of neck pain.

Motorland Aragon Pre-Season Test Day 1 Times

12Lando NorrisGBRJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.780s1m55.860s
222Harrison ScottGBRAVF by Adrian Valles1m56.704s1m55.907s
39Dorian BoccolacciFRATech 1 Racing1m56.730s1m56.016s
421Henrique ChavesPORAVF by Adrian Valles1m57.647s1m56.281s
516Julien FalcheroFRAR-Ace GP1m57.075s1m56.312s
61Jehan DaruvalaINDJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.490s1m56.351s
73Robert ShwartzmanRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1m57.638s1m56.536s
814Will PalmerGBRR-Ace GP1m57.146s1m56.577s
910Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m57.610s1m56.618s
1011Sacha FenestrazSWITech 1 Racing1m57.233s1m56.745s
1162Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports1m57.307s1m56.849s
1217Alexey KorneevRUSJD Motorsport1m57.167s1m56.864s
1312Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1m56.963s1m56.938s
1432Philip HamprechtGERCram Motorsport1m57.792s1m57.042s
155Vasily RomanovRUSFortec Motorsports1m58.030s1m57.080s
1618James AllenAUSJD Motorsport1m57.442s1m57.322s
1723Nerses IsaakyanRUSAVF by Adrian Valles1m57.769s1m57.427s
1830Rodrigo PfluckerPERCram Motorsport1m57.781s1m57.571s
196Bruno BaptistaBRZFortec Motorsports1m58.330s1m57.804s
2038David PorcelliUSAMGR Motorsport1m58.550s1m58.076s
2131David RichertCANCram Motorsport1m59.553s1m58.982s
2242Julia PankiewiczPOLAVF2m00.534s1m59.278s