Oettl Dodges the Rain to Take Pole at COTA

Philipp Oettl dealt best with the difficult conditions in qualifying at the Circuit of the Americas to claims his maiden Moto3 pole position. The German used supreme skill and expert tactics to outpace Jorge Navarro and Enea Bastianini while several big names were caught out by a mid-session rain shower.

Rainfall during the final Moto2 practice session left a damp track for the lightweight class riders but Oettl was clearly the man with most confidence in the conditions. The Schedl GP rider leapt to the top of the leaderboard with his first timed lap of the afternoon and was never usurped as he made improvement after improvement.

As the halfway stage approached, Oettl had lowered the benchmark time to a 2:18.398 with Navarro closing a gap that grew as large as six seconds at one stage to just 0.587s. With heavy rain now falling, the top grid positions were effectively decided with Oettl on pole from Navarro and Bastianini. Jakub Kornfeil, another rider to venture out early, qualified fourth ahead of Romano Fenati while Adam Norrodin secured a second row start in sixth, just six days after the heartbreaking loss of a podium in Argentina.

Andrea Locatelli will line up seventh for Leopard ahead of Jules Danilo and Fabio Quartararo while Livio Loi’s positive start to 2016 continued, the Belgian securing tenth spot. The riders caught out after staying in the garage early on included Qatar GP winner Niccolo Antonelli who will have to charge through the field from 30th place with Argentine GP winner Khairul Idham Pawi one place further back in 31st.


Moto3 Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
165. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing2:18.398
29. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:18.985
333. Enea BastianiniHondaGresini Racing Moto32:18.996
484. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team2:19.068
55. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR462:19.135
67. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team2:19.469
755. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing2:19.708
895. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold2:19.790
920. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing2:20.118
1011. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV2:20.230
118. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR462:20.444
1241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:20.456
1324. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker2:20.499
1458. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team2:20.649
1510. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:20.773
1676. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia2:21.151
1717. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint2:21.159
1821. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto32:21.309
1998. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:21.379
2088. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto32:21.486
2116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR462:21.957
2244. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,02:22.232
2364. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:22.251
2419. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team2:22.687
2577. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia2:22.794
2640. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate2:23.097
276. Maria HerreraKTMTeam Laglisse2:23.461
2843. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia2:23.495
2936. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing2:23.578
3023. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold2:24.379
314. Fabio di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto32:24.477
3289. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia2:24.640
NQ3. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker2:31.357