Power hits the top in second Long Beach practice

Will Power hit the top during the second free practice session ahead of this weekend’s Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, round three of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season.

The Australian racer ran the quickest lap of the weekend so far of 1m07.5992s to keep Team Penske at the top of the time sheets after team-mate Juan Pablo Montoya had set the pace in the opening practice session earlier in the day.

James Hinchcliffe was Power’s closest challenger during the second session, ending 0.2231s behind in his Schmidt Peterson Motorsports entry, while Graham Rahal was third for Rahal Letterman Lanigan by Theodore Racing.

The rest of the Team Penske clan were next up, with championship leader Simon Pagenaud recovering from his poor opening practice to set the fourth fastest time ahead of Montoya and Helio Castroneves.

Josef Newgarden was next up in seventh for Ed Carpenter Racing, ahead of the leading Chip Ganassi Racing entry of reigning series champion Scott Dixon, while Jack Hawksworth of AJ Foyt Enterprises and Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport completed the top ten.

Unlike in the first session, it was a clean, incident-free session, with Alexander Rossi returning to the track after his FP1 crash, running nineteen laps of the Long Beach street track in his Andretti Herta Autosport machine, albeit setting only the twentieth fastest time, just behind Chip Ganassi Racing’s Max Chilton.

Long Beach Free Practice 2 Times

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m07.5992s18
25James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m07.8223s18
315Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m07.8853s26
422Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m07.9015s19
52Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m07.9443s22
63Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m08.0431s18
721Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m08.1026s18
89Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m08.1123s19
941Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m08.1190s15
1026Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m08.1457s21
1114Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m08.1869s17
1283Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m08.1989s19
1311Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m08.2807s21
147Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m08.3091s21
1518Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m08.3420s21
1610Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m08.4036s19
1728Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m08.4815s17
1827Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m08.5406s18
198Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m08.5559s21
2098Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport1m08.5561s19
2119Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing1m09.2093s22