Pulcini beats Aitken to secure opening Estoril pole

by Paul Hensby

Leonardo Pulcini started the season in the best possible way by taking pole position for race one at Estoril on Saturday morning.

The Italian teenager had been strong all weekend during practice at the Portuguese circuit and he continued that form into qualifying, with Pulcini’s best time of 1m32.394s enough to the Campos Racing driver to top spot, 0.062s clear of RP Motorsport’s Jack Aitken.

2015 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and ALPS champion Aitken is making his series debut this weekend as a wildcard entry after securing a last minute deal with RP.

American youngster Colton Herta will start third on his and his Carlin teams debut in the EuroFormula Open championship, 0.241s back on Pulcini, while Austrian Ferdinand Habsburg will start fourth on the grid for the Drivex School team, a further 0.013s back on Herta.

Diego Menchaca was fifth for Campos Racing ahead of a quartet of RP Motorsport drivers led by Damiano Fioravanti, with the Italian’s team-mates Tanart Sathienthirakul, Antoni Ptak and Kantadhee Kusiri following, while Carlin’s Keyvan Andres completed the top ten.

Estoril Race 1 Qualifying Times

18Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1m32.394s
24Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport1m32.456s
398Colton HertaUSACarlin1m32.635s
462Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School1m32.648s
57Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1m32.839s
63Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1m32.989s
75Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport1m33.264s
81Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport1m33.345s
92Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport1m33.377s
1047Keyvan AndresGERCarlin1m33.433s
1110Tatiana CalderonCOLTeo Martin Motorsport1m33.556s
126Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing1m33.595s
1337Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports1m33.731s
1472Nikita ZlobinRUSTeo Martin Motorsport1m33.731s
1511Petru FlorescuROMTeo Martin Motorsport1m33.773s
1620Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing1m33.812s
1727Kang LingCHNDAV Racing1m33.863s
1818Daniele CazzanigaITADAV Racing1m33.909s
1951Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin1m34.040s
2021Ye HongliCHNBVM Racing1m34.043s
2114Jose-Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport1m34.958s
229Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing1m35.987s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More