EuroFormula Open

Pulcini quickest as Estoril weekend gets underway

1 Mins read

After setting the pace during Thursday tests at Estoril, Leonardo Pulcini was once again quickest as free practice for the season opening EuroFormula Open round of the season got underway on Friday at the Portuguese circuit.

The young Italian was the only driver to set a time beneath 1m33s, with the Campos Racing drivers free practice one time of 1m32.886s almost two tenths of a second faster than Carlin’s Colton Herta, while Damiano Fioravanti the leading RP Motorsport driver in third, 0.326s back.

Former RP driver Igor Walilko was fourth as his Fortec Motorsports team continue to learn the championship after joining forces with Team West-Tec F3 for 2016, while Diego Menchaca was fifth for Campos Racing, 0.671s back on his pacesetting team-mate.

Ferdinand Habsburg was sixth in the opening session for Drivex School despite missing Thursday test sessions, while Julio Moreno made it three Campos cars in the top seven, the Ecuadorian finishing ahead of RP Motorsport’s Antoni Ptak, Carlin’s Keyvan Andres and Teo Martin Motorsport’s Nikita Zlobin.

In the slower second session at Estoril, it was Habsburg who set the pace with a 1m33.523s, with Jack Aitken ending up second for RP Motorsport ahead of Herta, Menchaca, Walilko, Ptak, Fioravanti, Zlobin and DAV Racing’s Daniele Cazzaniga.

Estoril Free Practice 1 Times

[table id=995 /]

Estoril Free Practice 2 Times

[table id=996 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.