Aitken secures Sunday pole at Spa Francorchamps

Jack Aitken - Credit: FOTOSPEEDY

After taking victory in race one on Saturday, Jack Aitken followed that up by securing pole position for Sunday’s second EuroFormula Open race at Spa-Francorchamps, his second in four races.

The British driver took his RP Motorsport machine to the top of the time sheets with a best lap of 2m13.523s around the legendary Belgian circuit to deny his main race one rival Leonardo Pulcini the pole.

Pulcini was 0.411s back in second for Campos Racing, with his Ecuadorian team-mate Julio Moreno having his best qualifying performance of the season so far in third, a further 0.246s behind the Italian.

Ferdinand Habsburg was fourth fastest for Drivex School, and will be looking to build on his podium finish from race one during Sunday’s second race.

Tanart Sathienthirakul will start fifth for RP Motorsport ahead of another of the Campos Racing entries Diego Menchaca, while row four will see RP Motorsport duo Damiano Fioravanti and Kantadhee Kusiri line-up alongside each other.

American teenager Colton Herta was the leading Carlin driver in ninth, while Polish driver Antoni Ptak made sure all five RP Motorsport entries were inside the top ten.

Only twenty-two of the twenty-three entries took to the track, with Nikita Zlobin sitting out race two following his airborne crash during race one on Saturday in his Teo Martin Motorsport entry.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Result

14Jack AitkenGBRRP Motorsport2m13.523s
28Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing2m13.934s
36Julio MorenoECUCampos Racing2m14.180s
462Ferdinand HabsburgAUTDrivex School2m14.422s
55Tanart SathienthriakulTHARP Motorsport2m14.433s
67Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing2m14.501s
73Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport2m14.648s
82Kusiri KantadheeTHARP Motorsport2m14.729s
998Colton HertaUSACarlin2m14.751s
101Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport2m14.943s
1147Keyvan AndresGERCarlin2m15.180s
1251Ameya VaidyanathanINDCarlin2m15.319s
1310Tatiana CalderonCOLTeo Martin Motorsport2m15.417s
1437Igor WalilkoPOLFortec Motorsports2m15.524s
1527Kang LingCHNDAV Racing2m15.626s
1665Enaam AhmedGBRDAV Racing2m15.634s
1720Daniel PronenkoRUSBVM Racing2m15.842s
1818Daniele CazzanigaITADAV Racing2m15.958s
1914Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXTeo Martin Motorsport2m16.612s
209Gulhuseyn AbdullayeuAZECampos Racing2m18.262s
2111Petru FlorescuROMTeo Martin Motorsport2m18.666s
2215JT LiangCHNTeam West-Tec F32m20.412s