Andretti leads the way on opening day of Indy 500 practice

Andretti Autosport led the way around the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway as practice for the 100th running of Indianapolis 500 got underway on Monday.

All five of the Honda-powered Andretti Autosport cars were inside the top six, and were only denied a clean sweep of the top five by a late lap by Scott Dixon that saw the Chip Ganassi Racing driver move into fifth.

Marco Andretti set the best time of the day of 39.3051s, a speed of 228.978mph, ahead of team-mates Carlos Munoz and Ryan Hunter-Reay, and the Andretti Herta Autosport entry of rookie Alexander Rossi.

Townsend Bell was sixth for Andretti Autosport behind Dixon, while another Chip Ganassi Racing entry Charlie Kimball was seventh.

Kimball has switched numbers for the event, changing from his usual #83 to the #42 in order to promote the 42-hour duration of Tresiba, a long-acting basal insulin used for blood sugar control by adults with diabetes, something the American has been living with since being diagnosed in 2007.

Graham Rahal placed his Rahal Letterman Lanigan with Theodore Racing machine into eighth place, with Will Power the leading Team Penske entry on a relatively quiet day for the team. Bryan Clauson completed the top ten for Dale Coyne Racing/Jonathan Byrd’s Racing.

Rossi is one of five Indy 500 debutants in 2016, and the young American successfully passed his rookie orientation session, as did Matt Brabham (KV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray), Max Chilton (Chip Ganassi Racing), Spencer Pigot (Rahal Letterman Langian Racing) and Stefan Wilson (KV Racing Technology).

Bell and Clauson were amongst five drivers who took a refresher test during the two-hour rookie orientation session, along with Sage Karam (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing), JR Hildebrand (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Oriol Servia (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports).

All thirty-three entries took to the track on Monday, and completed 1474 laps of the famed oval circuit, with practice set to resume at midday local time on Tuesday, weather permitting.

Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar
Credit: Chris Jones / IndyCar

Indianapolis 500 Rookie Orientation Results

129Townsend BellUSAAndretti Autosport40.1465s
288Bryan ClausonUSADale Coyne Racing/Jonathan Byrd's Racing40.8342s
324Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing40.9088s
46JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.9267s
598Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport40.9455s
68Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing41.2204s
716Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing41.3125s
877Oriol ServiaESPSchmidt Peterson Motorsports41.6652s
961Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray41.6720s
1025Stefan WilsonGBRKV Racing Technology41.8781s

Indianapolis 500 Day 1 Practice Results

127Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport39.3051s
226Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport39.3108s
328Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport39.4680s
498Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport39.6711s
59Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing39.6764s
629Townsend BellUSAAndretti Autosport39.6958s
742Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing39.8481s
815Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing39.9421s
912Will PowerAUSTeam Penske40.0033s
1088Bryan ClausonUSADale Coyne Racing/Jonathan Byrd's Racing40.0415s
1120Ed CarpenterUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.0466s
128Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing40.0643s
132Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske40.0690s
1421Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.0900s
1519Gabby ChavesCOLDale Coyne Racing40.1092s
1622Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske40.1209s
1710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing40.1311s
1824Sage KaramUSADreyer & Reinbold Racing40.1669s
1977Oriol ServiaESPSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.1711s
2014Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises40.2098s
2163Pippa MannGBRDale Coyne Racing40.2645s
2211Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing40.3488s
236JR HildebrandUSAEd Carpenter Racing40.3766s
2416Spencer PigotUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing40.3921s
2561Matt BrabhamAUSKV Racing/Pirtek Team Murray40.4352s
267Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.4520s
273Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske40.5382s
2825Stefan WilsonGBRKV Racing Technology40.5393s
295James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports40.6653s
3035Alex TaglianiCANAJ Foyt Enterprises40.7766s
3118Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing41.3551s
3241Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises42.1375s
334Buddy LazierUSALazier/Burns Racing42.3248s