Binder Beats Fenati in Final Lap Shootout

Brad Binder claimed his second consecutive victory after a superb tactical display in the closing laps of the French Grand Prix at Le Mans. The South African followed up his remarkable win at Jerez with a very different success in France, holding off the fierce challenge of Romano Fenati and Estrella Galicia pair Jorge Navarro and Aron Canet.

The opening laps saw some typically frenetic Moto3 racing with the leading group growing as large as eleven riders before the pace cranked up. Once the leaders began to settle into a rhythm, four had broken away with Fenati leading Binder, Navarro and Canet, winner of the CEV Moto3 race here last year. The rookie began to threaten a first Grand Prix win at the same venue when he climbed to second on lap fourteen but his experienced rivals quickly shuffled him back to fourth.

In the closing laps, Estrella Galicia’s hopes hinged on Navarro and the more-experienced Spaniard fought his way past Binder on the penultimate lap, diving past at Dunlop. This, however, would see the start of the South African’s charge to victory with Brad regaining P2 at La Chapelle before forcing Fenati to give way at the Bleu Esses. Romano, who had spent more time in front than anyone else, weaved left and right on the final lap but Binder defended his line superbly, not offering his rival a sniff.

Navarro saw off his teammate for the final podium spot while Nicolo Bulega edged out home favourite Fabio Quartararo and the third Sky VR46 KTM of Andrea Migno to finish a fine fifth. Polesitter Niccolo Antonelli faded to eighth while Jakub Kornfeil recovered from an off-track excursion at Chemin-aux-Boeufs to take ninth.


Moto3 Monster Energy Grand Prix de France (Race Result)

141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo41:31.04125
25. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+0.09920
39. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.38716
444. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+1.35413
58. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+7.14711
620. Fabio QuartararoKTMLeopard Racing+7.61610
716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+8.0169
823. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+8.4578
984. Jakub KornfeilHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+9.8507
1055. Andrea LocatelliKTMLeopard Racing+9.9266
1111. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP BV+12.2935
1221. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+13.7384
1358. Juanfran GuevaraKTMRBA Racing Team+13.5113
1489. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia+13.9072
1524. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+14.3821
1664. Bo BendsneyderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+20.915
174. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaGresini Racing Moto3+21.229
1888. Jorge MartinMahindraASPAR MAHINDRA Team Moto3+24.091
1910. Alexis MasbouPeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+38.782
2017. John McPheePeugeotPeugeot MC Saxoprint+38.852
216. Maria HerreraKTMMH6 Team+38.986
2243. Stefano ValtuliniMahindra3570 Team Italia+54.550
233. Fabio SpiranelliMahindraCIP-Unicom Starker+1:03.526
2477. Lorenzo PetrarcaMahindra3570 Team Italia+1:03.593
2536. Joan MirKTMLeopard Racing+1:05.491
NC19. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+1 Lap
NC99. Enzo BoulomKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport+8 Laps
NC76. Hiroki OnoHondaHonda Team Asia+9 Laps
NC40. Darryn BinderMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+14 Laps
NC65. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+21 Laps
NC95. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+22 Laps
NC7. Adam NorrodinHondaDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+24 Laps
NC98. Karel HanikaMahindraPlatinum Bay Real Estate+24 Laps
NQ37. Davide PizzoliKTMProcercasa - 42 Motorsport